We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
119
118
101
64
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
118
101
64
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch ness exhibition centre boat tour bit dated comfy bed long drive urquhart castle bistro nessie highlands
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Firstly, the photos on the website are very misleading. The carpet was worn and stained all through the hotel including the room. The walls seemed to be made of cardboard. We could hear every word of every conversation our neighbours were having. I even knocked the wall to let them know - however, the whole thing shook! Very dated decor - lots of cobwebs in corners and the wardrobe smelled like damp. Our room overlooked the back of the building and was over the kitchen of the cafe. Staff went out there for a ciggy and stubbed them out on the wall of the shed that contained the freezers where I'm assuming the food was kept. Which brings me onto the cafe - don't bother. The whole place was a bit dodgy.

Room tip: In another hotel
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, General Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. the photos we advertise were only taken last year of all our different types of rooms we sell at the hotel, as for the walls being thin that's true and was supposed to be addressed last year to which was outwith my controls. Not all our rooms have views which most people I'm sure will understand. Not sure where the carpets are worn to be honest it that were the case we would have replaced them. The Café and kitchen are in fine health and passed by local authority on our inspection so not sure what your referring too. Thanks agin or your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

We stayed in the main building of the hotel and while the room was very basic and small, the beds were comfortable and it was clean. The pillows were pretty flat tho so plan to use two! The check in was flawless and the clerk was very friendly and helpful to suggest several places for dinner in walking distance. We didn't have trouble finding a place to park and only stayed one night. We did enjoy the breakfast which was reasonably priced. I can't say if any of the rooms came with a view, ours was of the building behind. My only real complaint was that it was hot in the room and the window would not open enough to let a breeze in. Suggestion: put a fan in the room, even a table top one would have been helpful.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becks401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, General Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us be it was only 1 night. thank you for your lovely comments, this was a hot summer and yes going forward the fan would be ideal. Thanks again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a very convenient location to visit the Lochness exhibition centre and the Lochness as well. There are cruises departing almost hourly from the piers. The room was clean but very old, and the staff wasn't particularly friendly. The breakfast was the worst part. We arrived in the COBBS café hall at 8:15 am and the spectacle was desolating. All the juices were almost empty and nobody took care of refilling them. The staff was not even caring that we were there. I asked some toast and first they brought me very cold toast (likely some leftover). Then I told that to the staff and they reheated some of them and burnt a couple. Considering the price for 1 night, I definitely not recommend to stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emanuele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, General Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your review, the reason our juice cabinet was low on juice as we were waiting for our delivery as the previous days had been so busy and not that were to lazy to stock. My apologies about the cold toast that should never have happened

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Last minute booking. Friendly staff but wifi was pretty sporadic and slow. Unable to eat onsite but staff were more than helpful showing us other options in town. Rooms were clean and tidy and bathrooms immaculate

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Galbraith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, General Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed only for one night thankfully.
They stuck me in "The Annex"! Sticky carpet with mouldy wallpaper...disgusting!
Complete refurb needed.
Had the fear when having to plug a device into a socket.
Be warned!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Creag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, General Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your review, we allocate the rooms you book through our websites that all have pictures and we do say they are budget rooms, the carpets are fine its a very old building. Our wiring by the way is checked every year so all good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews