We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't honor our reservation”
Review of Kilmore Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmore Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made reservations 2 months in advance of arrival and received an email confirmation that arriving at 6:30 pm was fine and suggesting we make dinner reservations in advance because restaurants get busy, so we did for 7 pm. That email confirmation also contained my husbands cell phone number, so I know they had 2 ways of contacting us both cell and email. We arrived at the B&B at the prescribed time and no one answered the phone or door bell. We waited for awhile and other guests departed telling us that they had recently spoken to the owners and they were out to dinner and would probably be back soon. They said the front door is unlocked and that we should leave a note which we did on the key rack. Half an hour had passed, so we went to our 7pm dinner. As we were finishing up our desserts at 9, I sent an email to alert them that we were on our way back. Apparently they did get an alert on their phone or computer as within a couple minutes of sending, I received a call on my phone that they were not home and could not accommodate us that evening. He said they were at the hospital with their son. I am sorry if that was the case, but since the house was open, why couldn't we have taken our room since they already had a house full of guests and keys were hanging on rack? It seems that they had double booked and forgotten about our reservation. If indeed they had this emergency, and had known we were to arrive, then why didn't they call us hours before so that we would have had time to find other accommodations earlier in the day when B&Bs and small hotels were still open to receive guests. He tried to suggest that we stay in another small hotel in town, but the tripadvisor ratings were bad with over 100 poor and terrible reviews. I had spent months arranging to stay in nice venues as this trip was a present to my family so we drove an hour to a larger town to stay in acceptable hotel that still had a desk clerk that late in the evening. This unfortunately was the only B&B that let us down out of the 7 B&Bs we stayed in during our tour of Scotland. I know that unforeseen events can occur, but if you have double booked a customer's reservation or an issue arises, then communication and honesty is the best policy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TennisLover85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed two nights as part of our Great Glen Way walk. France's was a fantastic host. We spent a lot of time chatting with her. The whole layout was good as was our room. Breakfast was excellent especially the smoked bacon. Probably the best overall place we stayed on the walk. You can't miss with this place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BluePhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin S, Owner at Kilmore Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are delighted that you took the time to review our b&b, thank you so much. It is great that you enjoyed your stay so much and do hope that if you are up this way again you will come and have a coffee or better still stay again!. Our warm regards, Colin and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Our hosts gave us a very warm welcome despite our wet and muddy boots! The rooms are all decorated with a different Clan tartan, a very comfortable guest sitting room with views to the colourful garden. Breakfast came with a Swiss theme combined with locally sourced produce.

Room Tip: Any room they are all of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin S, Owner at Kilmore Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so pleased that you have taken the time to write your review and your comments are much appreciated. Our kind regards, Colin and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Stayed here with friends during our Great Glen Way walk. Excellent hosts -even booked local restaurant for our evening meal.
It is clearly signposted as Kilmore Farmhouse but we made mistake of firstly going to the farm. It is not associated with the farm but a little way up the road.
The hosts were friendly and provided us with an excellent breakfast. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin S, Owner at Kilmore Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you so much for your super review, it is greatly appreciated by both of us. We do hope that you can stay again with us one day. Our warm regards, Colin and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We were walking the Great Glen Way. Kind and helpful hosts. Excellent accommodation with plenty of additional space for guests. Warm and comfortable. Plenty of hot water that was appreciated after a day's walking. Colin knows his food that is locally sourced. A lot of effort has gone into thinking about the food. Frances was kind and attentive. Colin arranged a booking at a local restaurant for us on our arrival that saved us time and energy. Very good breakfast. Hearty send off made us feel like family. Well worth a visit. Well placed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank simcomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin S, Owner at Kilmore Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

A super review, thank you very much for taking the time and writing such kind thoughts. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, so gratifying for us. Until the next time, our warmest regards, Colin and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumnadrochit hotels
0 km away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
0 km away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
0 km away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#9 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
176 reviews
0 km away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
90 reviews
0 km away
Kilmichael House B&B
Kilmichael House B&B
#18 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmore Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmore Farmhouse

Address: Kilmore Road, Drumnadrochit IV3 6UF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are extremely proud to have been awarded The Location of the Year Award 2016 by the prestigious Luxury Travel Guide, an international awards programme in recognition of all holiday & tour options from large operators to small, independent guides. Situated just a little outside the village centre of Drumnadrochit this peaceful four star bed and breakfast haven gives you all the relaxation you need on your highland holiday without taking you too far away from what's going on around you. Enjoy our award winning breakfast and relax in the guest conservatory or guest lounge anytime during your stay. All of our guest rooms are on the ground floor and have had brand new en suite installed in 2016. Enjoy your stay with us! Colin and Frances, your friendly hosts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilmore Farmhouse Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing