We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the Highlands not have hot water?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I booked the hotel because the website looked brilliant, however on arrival the hotel did not do the website any justice. It was dark, unwelcoming and had a very strong musty smell hanging around every corner. I know the hotel is extremely old but shouldn't that encourage the owners to re-plaster the ceilings and paint over the damp stains on the walls? The rooms are very big with a lovely view however they are again, dark, musty and extremely outdated. I wanted to go to a typical scottish hotel but the decor was terrible, cluttered and disorganised. After our first day exploring the loch in the rain what better than going back to a nice hot shower, but no, after running the shower for twenty minutes there was still no hot water.

I am still regretting paying for this terrible place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RSalmond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 267 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

stayed for 2nights wish it was longer,the staff all great and helpful with the young lady vicky realy helpful and easy to chat to.Nice rooms and the breakfeast`s are very filling so will last you untill the evening easly.lots of lovely views if you get at the front of the hotel,when im back in drumnadrochit i would have no hesatation in staying at this fantastic hotel in agreat location.
Anyone who is not happy staying here then i would give up staying in hotels!

Room Tip: room 6 front of hotel great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonerdave68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a few days with a few of my friends and loved every minute of it! The staff were brilliant and so accommodating; the food was delicious (particularly the breakfasts mmmmmmm!!!); the visitor shop was full of greats gifts to buy but the highlight for us was the MASSIVE Nessie in "Nessieland" it was wicked!!! We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Take more money so you can stay longer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P17HJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A mate and I stayed at the hotel over Easter weekend this year. We missed breakfast but when we asked the staff where would be a good place to go for food, they went out of their way to cook us both breakfast which sort of helped our hangovers which was much appreciated. I'd definitely recommend staying here, really nice hotel and location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Loch ness Lodge Hotel last week with a KGB deal. I phoned to ask if we could have our 2 children in the room, a toddler and a baby and the hotel kindly gave us a large family room at no extra cost. Our room was lovely with plenty of room for 2 cots and had a large bay window area with seating. Our deal (£99 for 2 people 2 night B&B) also included afternoon tea. This was served in the lounge, a lovely room with comfy sofas and real fire. Our toddler was given a little cupcake too and some nessie shortbread, which was very kind as the deal was only for 2 adults. The bar area is great, full of character. Lovely reclining leather sofa and chairs. Children were welcome in the bar.
We didnt have dinner in the hotel as it wasnt served until 6.30, which isnt great with small children. We ate at a little cafe over the bridge one night (cheap and basic but fine) and Fiddlers the next (more expensive but great food). Breakfast in the hotel was fine although service was a bit slow at times. Food fine.
We did have an issue with the water in our room going off, apparently due to maintenance issues. However, we did report this and felt that the manageress dealt with this courteously and to our satisfaction, it would not put us off going back.
We didnt go into Nessieland although our deal included this, as we felt our little ones would rather be outside. Our 2 year old loved the giant Nessie statue outside and the Nessie playground. This playground really could do with a bit of tlc though. It looks so run down and in need of some attention, which is a shame as it could be a real draw to the hotel for young families. We were not charged to go in although it seems from the sign that they do charge. I dont think anyone would actually pay for this though. However, the equipment was fine and my daughter enjoyed it. I hope the management get someone in to cut the grass and tidy the place up before it gets too overgrown.
We booked a boat trip on Loch Ness at the shop over the bridge which was a lot cheaper than booking at the shop beside the hotel. The were going to charge £15 per adult plus £10 for our 2 year old (baby free) but the shop opposite tourist info charged £12 per adult and no charge for 2 year old, so was £16 cheaper. Boat trip was good, only 5 mins drive to Loch Ness and boat trip lasted an hour.
We felt that the staff were friendly and approachable, the hotel was child friendly and welcoming and the bar area lovely. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank OlliesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
24.8 km away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,236 reviews
0.2 km away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
428 reviews
23.6 km away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
397 reviews
6.1 km away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
778 reviews
6.0 km away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Address: | Off A831, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: ₹ 6,873 - ₹ 9,880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel Drumnadrochit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing