We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were disappointed as we were led to believe that this hotel was on loch ness, it was not even within walking distance. The bathroom was badly planned with very little room to put our toiletries, which we needed as the only thing supplied by the hotel was a nearly empty hand wash container. The dinner that evening was very good, but on coming down to breakfast the next morning we went to the same table as it was the only one at the window, which I prefer. However we were asked to move tables as we had taken a table for four when there were only two of us!! This in a dining room of at least ten tables, but only some laid for breakfast. The others were laid for dinner, I now know why the glasses were dusty, they don't refresh tables not used!! When we tried to book out there was no one at reception and I had look for someone so that we could move on to a more friendly better run hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    117
    84
    58
    52
See reviews for
104
146
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel has a very scottish feel, decorated with lots of tartan, our room was good a little old though with a musty smell in one spot and saggy floor but that aside i enjoyed our stay. Bar area was really great with comfortable reclining chairs and the staff were extremely helpful and hospitable, food was also great also. All in all i loved this place was a great experience for us as it was our first trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were waking the Great Glen Way and wanted to stay in at least one hotel along the way that was traditionally Scottish. The Loch Ness Lodge came up trumps. We are amazed about some of the other criticisms made about this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the decor was traditional and had character, unlike many of the faceless chain-owned hotels. The breakfast was superb and set us up for a long day ahead. Congratulations to the owners of this hotel who have retained charm rater than cover all of the walls in magnolia. Support this hotel pease!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Had a fantastic weekend thanks to the wonderful staff at this hotel. We did have some problems with hot water but nothing serious. Food was good. I have read some coments in the past about this hotels decor and altough, yes, it might be not to everyones taste with all the tartan and wood paneling, but it suits the style of building and after all it is in the heart of Scotland. Take the cruise on board the Nessie Cruise...fantastc. On the whole a wonderful weekend thanks to all........

Cheers

Room Tip: Ask for room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darth151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our room was reasonablly size but very dated. The tartan theme is not done tastefully but splashed through the whole place and looks like it has been here almost as long as the original building! The restaurant food was good, although a bit pricey for a very limited menu. Breakfast not being served before 8am is very inconvenient, our first morning we didn't manage to leave until 9.30. The staff were very flustered and disorganized for a relatively slow morning. Once we were finally served after some time, our order was wrong but since it took 45mins for a cooked breakfast to arrive we weren't going to risk sending it back. One thing we were impressed with was the open fireplace at the bar and sitting rooms provides a very nice atmosphere to drink and chat. The receptionist was great and very busy serving at the bar aswell as reception. It's a shame, this place seems like it is going for an authentic Scottish traditional theme but I think it has missed the mark with the old decor and fittings. It could use a facelift.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusMezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
24.8 km away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.2 km away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
23.6 km away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
6.1 km away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
6.2 km away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Property: Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Address: | Off A831, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,077 - ₹ 9,844
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel Drumnadrochit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing