We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtakingly Beautiful - A holiday home from...”

Review of Balvraid Steading

The house from the inner courtyard. The two annexes are behind the camera.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the inner courtyard. The two annexes are behind the camera.
The southern end of the spacious main lounge, with galleried landing. The separate 'snug' with Freesat TV and DVD player.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The house from the inner courtyard. The two annexes are behind the camera.
The southern end of the spacious main lounge, with galleried landing.
The separate 'snug' with Freesat TV and DVD player.
The large dining room with table seating twelve.
The fully-fitted kitchen includes twin ovens and hobs, large fridge/freezer, dishwasher and all smal
A typical en-suite bedroom in the main house, all of which are decorated in a similar style but with
The view from the lounge French window
The northern annex, with three double en-suite rooms. The southern annex is a mirror with one double
View from the house across the Loch Fleet estuary.
Springtime beside Loch Fleet, just a short walk away.
The garden with a view along the north-east coast.
View from the house NW across Strath Fleet.
View to the east across the Dornoch Firth.
View of Estate salmon ladder on the River Carnaig
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda S
Lanarkshire, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtakingly Beautiful - A holiday home from home!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I spent our summer holiday at Balvraid Steading this year and I must say this is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed on holiday.
The Steading is well cared for and has the most amazing view of the estuary.
It is very peaceful and a wonderful place to relax.
The house is large enough to get lost in, which my lovely mother proved the first night.
A place which we have fallen in love with and are already looking forward to our next stay.
The most comfortable beds I must mention also.
Thank you Caroline and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the estuary. The silent nights where we could sit out in the garden and watch the stars. The house.
Liked least: No wi-fi/internet but that is something we could all learn to live without for a while.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the all the facilities
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and scenery
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike about our holiday
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
polarbear...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a Wonderful time”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Friends and family gathered for a wonderful time at Balvraid Steading , with absolutely beautiful views from most rooms in the house that looked out across the Dornoch Firth and Loch Fleet , you will have a job to beat this property .
With lots of rooms for us all bedrooms large with ensuite and tastefully furnished , The owners were very helpful with helping us with some extras we wanted at no extra charge . Garden is well kept with lots of herbs that we did use ,flowers on arrival , all just brilliant . Thank you Caroline x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: We had to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing