We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, comfortable break - will be back”
other travellers have booked this property
Craigdarroch Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craigdarroch Cottage
Open living area Open living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Craigdarroch Cottage
Open living area
Open living area
Cooking Island with bar stools
Wood Burning Stove
Wood Burning Stove
Decking with loch view (steps to access)
Sunset on Loch Earn
Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park
Dogs welcome
Ducks at sunset on Loch Earn
Salmon leap, Buchanty Spout, near Crieff
Loch Earn
Thistle
Deil's Cauldron, Comrie
Loch Earn
Visitor to St Fillans
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Fillans, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J B
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, comfortable break - will be back”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely little cottage set in a quiet location in St Fillans with lovely views. If you need to get away from it all this is the place to go. The cottage itself is modern and there is everything you could need. On entry to the cottage there are a few steps but other than that it is on one level. It has been finished off to a high standard. The photographs don't do it justice. Check out the book of photographs in the cottage showing the renovations, amazing what they have done. There is also a folder with local information in it, which was really useful. Locally there is a little shop and a friendly, cosy bar in the hotel, which had a welcoming, roaring log fire. This hotel is owned by Arran Brewery. Lovely area to explore by walking or by car. I would imagine in summer there will be a lot more seasonal activity on the loch but I found something particularly cosy about sitting by a log burner with a glass of mulled wine looking out as the hills disappeared in a passing snowstorm. The owner has built a decking area at the back of the cottage, a few steps up to it but gives lovely views over the loch. Parking right at the door although my car didn't move during the whole stay. Definitely hope to return again soon and would have no hesitation recommending this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to relax in a comfortable environment
Liked least: I wasn't feeling great for a couple of days so wasn't able to take full advantage of walks
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dazza3044
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location and cottage.”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Absolutely stunning cottage, location and views. Will be going back for definite. Loads to see and do, so wish I had taken my golf clubs though, cottage was so cosy, modern but classic. Well done Ailsa and thank you.

Darren

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shazzaAus...
Aussie in UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing, cosy stay for a couple”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Wonderful job on renovating the cottage, a peaceful spot, just a nice place to come home at the end of a day touring the Trossachs National Park.

Everything you could need, lovely view overlooking Loch Earn. Modern decor and a very comfy bed !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and up to date bathroom
Liked least: Rear of property a little messy but not really an issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
justjans
Traralgon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,062 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Nice but doggy!”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I was sick when we arrived at the property and so was very happy when I spotted the three seater couch, and a throw rug on the other. I just wanted to curl up and sleep (or die). I was so disappointed when the throw rug reeked like you couldn't believe of dog. The 2 seater sofa and rug on the floor were also smelly. Such a pity in such a lovely property. Cooking, keeping windows and the door open as much as possible, seemed to dispel the odours temporarily, but it was always there when we came home. We put the throw rug outside in a plastic bag on day one as it was the worst. The property needs a guide to using the washing machine, dishwasher and cooker and the key is hard to use in the front door. The wood fire is lovely-Russ set it each morning before we went out so it was ready to light and toasty warm within minutes of getting "home" Lovely bed, linen, pillows and great equipment in the kitchen. I would recommend the property to friends who have dogs, but not those that don't. I would not return-I would find a pet-free property instead. Finally, I can't believe that properties without any sort of garden are considered pet friendly. A wet dog has nowhere to go but inside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality fit out
Liked least: Bad Dog Smell
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
I am sorry that you did not find my cottage to your satisfaction. This is the first year the cottage has been let so all feedback is helpful.

With regards to your comments the cottage is clearly advertised as pet friendly with no garden. A decking area has now been built but there is still no enclosed garden. I have had the living room rug taken away for cleaning and I have also bought a new one so they can be rotated regular for cleaning. The throw for the sofa is washed frequently and is not intended to be used for dogs so I can only apologise if it has been. With regards to the front door I had not been advised of any problems however I have now had this attended to - it had been a poorly cut key. I have not received any comments about operating problems with the dishwasher etc but I will look to include instructions in the welcome pack.

You also left feedback in my guest book regarding the bathroom fan not working after day one. Unfortunately you had turned it off at the wall so again I will look to provide instructions in case this happens in the future. I am glad to see your comment in the guest book

‘Maybe the best cottage of our ten week stay in the UK so far. Like coming home every night after a day’s sightseeing. Really cosy and comfortable’

Thank you for visiting Craigdarroch Cottage. I hope you enjoy the reminder of your holiday in the UK and wish you a safe trip home to Australia.

Kind Regards
Ailsa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing