We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
582
140
22
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
140
22
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course taster menu loch earn venison log fire loch view well stocked bar small hotel dining room lovely hotel beautiful location first class fabulous food warm welcome relaxing stay itison deal wine list hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Really good service all round. We arrived late on Saturday, and the chef prepared Nachos and cheeseboard for us. They took out 2 huge bowls of Nachos, we then asked if we could decline the cheeseboard, they said ok so it went back in fridge. On departure on bill was £30 for the bowls of nachos - £15 each!! They said the beef & cheese made it that price. Great service apart from that, a bit of common sense they would have knocked something off the Nachos, or given us a steak for that price.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank alanaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

As we explained when you arrived at just after 21h15, the kitchen had closed at 20h30 and were unable to cook you a meal. The chef then prepared for the two of you, two large Nacho's, with melted cheese, guacamole, sour cream and shredded beef as well as a cheese board for later as was requested and your meal was served to you at 21h30. As the Nacho's were too large a portion, you cancelled the cheese board which had already been prepared as the chef who had left by then. As agreed and mentioned, the cheese board was not charged to you. I accept that you were not happy about the price, but unfortunately that was the price for a main meal.
Regards
Brad, Zelda and the team from Achray House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We recently had 2 nights at Achray House and can’t recommend it highly enough. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. Bradley was a lovely host, warm and welcoming from our arrival, and Chris and Gemma were wonderful and we had a good laugh. Ideally situated for some of the local scenic walks, we will crrtainly be back for a second visit !

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks for the positive review and really pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals with us. We do have a great team working at the hotel and they all go the extra mile in attending to guests needs.
Looking forward to welcoming the two of you back again.
Regards
Brad, Zelda and the team from Achray House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We wanted to explore the Trossachs and found this hotel on trip advisor. Brad was so welcoming and friendly and the staff were charming. The only thing that let it down for us was the room. The beds (twins pushed together) were extremely uncomfortable and seemed really old and the pillows were flat and hard and need replacing. The grouting in the bathroom was missing in many areas (room 8) and the bedroom windows were small and needed a good clean. We paid extra for a Loch view but it definitely wasn’t worth it as it looks over the parking lot and our view the second night was a builders van. The staff definitely make the place. The building has wonderful potential. Our favourite room was the common space with the fireplace with a beautiful Loch view. We met the chef on our first night who was lovely. The breakfast had a great selection of cooked food which is a lovely touch. Small touches like the jam provided and bread could have been much better quality - they looked and tasted like Costco’s cheapest. They ran out of brown bread at breakfast which shouldn’t really happen as bookings are made in advance. A little more attention to detail and room quality and cleaning would be needed for me to give a 5 star. I have read the previous reviews and the host responses. I think the responses are quite harsh as it really isn’t easy to give these points in person as a guest and I did agree with the reasons for previous guest comments - both good and bad. Everyone’s standards are different and I definitely fall into the category where I like things properly cleaned. I also expect a good, clean and comfortable bed which were a disappointment as the price paid was similar to what we would have paid at a 4 star establishment. I have hosted holiday lets for years and if my guests commented negatively I would make the improvement straight away and respond with assurance improvements were made.

We loved Lochearnhead - the scenery was wonderful. The proximity to other local towns is excellent and we found the locals to be warm and friendly. Definitely an area worth exploring.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AliGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and that you found the room disappointing. The twin, zip and link, beds are relatively new and together make a super-king bed. Zelda and I work on a roster system of sleeping in every room at least twice a year to ensure that they are of a standard we would like when staying at another hotel. Since your visit, we have replaced the pillows in the room - they were needing replacement so thank you for pointing this out to us in your review.
With regards to your comments on the jam and bread for breakfast, all I can say is that we bake our own bread so and always have additional bread when available. We usually serve two slices per table when breakfast starts to go with the croissants, cheese & tomato, the cereal's and fresh or stewed fruit on offer and then offer additional bread when the cooked breakfast is served - I'm sorry you were not offered the additional bread when it was supposed to be offered. The jam, Duerr's Seville Orange Marmalade, strawberry, peach and pure honey is what is on offer. Not sure if I've seen this at Costco but will investigate.
Unfortunately we can not dictate what cars are parked in our car park as they are from guests staying in the hotel. Your room was on the first floor and from your room one would need to look over the car park onto the loch as one would need to do from all the public areas in the hotel.
Once again, sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Regards
Brad, Zelda and the team from Achray House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Stunning location, great hotel amazing host. Couldn't recommend it enough.

The room was comfy and the food was awesome. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

Would love to go back another time. Amazing whisky and gin offering too.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals with us. Not sure how many of the 58 single malts or 35 gins you were able to try out but I'm sure there are a number that still need investigation.
Regards
Brad, Zelda and the team from Achray House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

this was our 3rd hotel to check into on our trip,we arrived and were shown to our superior room,at £135 a night we found the room rather small and upon inspection of the bathroom we found it had not been cleaned properly,gemma the manager apologised and set about cleaning it whilst we had a drink.later we went to get into bed only to find hair in the bed.this time we were moved to another room which on inspection we found the under sheet to have dried blood on it.cleaning staff were woken by the owner as they set about changing the bedding.the following two nights were fine after our room was given a deep clean.sadly the room is in need of some repairs (the bathroom door is very hard to close and the bedroom window is hard to open" and decor is tired in general.however the views are stunning

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

As discussed at the hotel, I'm really sorry your room was not up to the standard it was supposed to be on check in hence why you were not charged for that night. We have oiled both the bathroom door and sash window and they now move without any problems.
Regards
Brad, Zelda and the team from Achray House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews