We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Achray House Hotel(St Fillans)
US$ 177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 181
US$ 176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 234
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
US$ 124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 224
US$ 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 202
US$ 196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 111
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rural Retreat(St Fillans)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
8
15
7
13
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
15
7
13
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2015

This is about the former hotel bar that does serve food, whilst the rest of the hotel and main restaurant is being slowly refurbished. I am afraid to say that in our week at St Fillans, we saw hardly anyone in here - drinking or eating. The main trade was for the cafe next door ( run by same people I think) with an outside area with sublime views of Loch Earn. Nevertheless, we chanced a pint, had a glance at the menu and the prices were very reasonable with a small menu but one that could suit our boys. A few nights later, we gave it a whirl. We were pleasantly surprised. The main thing that stood out was the Spanish manager, who was so attentive and worked very hard to see that we were happy. The food was ok, the boys enjoyed it and it was exceptional value although the portions were slightly on the small side. Even though it was a mild evening, it felt quite cold and musty. So, the Brewery who have just bought it I understand have a long way to go to bring this place up to the standard that this location and setting deserves but it is moving in the right direction and the staff are working hard to turn this place around. It has oodles of potential.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paulf1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We were staying in a log cabin up Comrie way and decided we'd head into St Fillans for something to eat. When we entered the hotel you could tell it's needing some work done. We sat down in one of the booths just next to the bar and a man came through and handed us the menu. There was hardly anything to choose from so to be on the safe side I resorted to a cheese sandwich. Everyone else ordered something else and when it came it looked like the dogs dinner my sandwich on the other hand was presentable and looked good to eat but the cheese on it was spread, they didn't even make effort to use 'real' cheese. Oh, we were the only people there.

After we'd eaten we had a chat about the hotel with the man who told us came over from Spain and they'd just bought the place but with the supposed passion he has why is there no work being done, evidently while there we saw nothing being fixed or cleaned. This hotel that was probably the nicest in the village in its prime is now falling into the pits of decline. Hopefully some day it will be better than its current state and rise again on the bonnie banks of the Loch.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KrisScott165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have a holiday home in st fillans and over the years have sadly seen the drummond arms slip rapidly into a very big hole .The hotel is now owned by Arann brewery, and has just reopened the bar on valentines day the Restaurant will be reopened mid april with all new staff owners are also opening a gift shop and micro brewery .So now is the time to forget about past comments and give this hotel a Chance .

Room Tip: Rooms not yet open call hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Abandoned and closed. Some would say not before time. The nearby Four Seasons hotel is brilliant. StFillans is beautiful location ideally placed for exploring Scotland. Loads of red squirrels and lots of good dog walking. FSH a genuine dog friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Micabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

this was a great hotel 20 years ago, needs alot of money spent on it and a new owner, has got great views across the loch and handy village shop that do good food.we had booked in for three nights but only stopped 2 nights as wife didnt want to stop anylonger.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dougie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews