We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel dining room”
Review of The Strathearn

The Strathearn
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 79 - US$ 79
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Strathearn, the glamorous heart of Gleneagles, is one of Scotland's most sophisticated yet buzzy destination restaurants, recreating the elegance of a bygone era with a theatrical flourish. Silver butler trays are whisked with calm confidence between the grand pillars to your candlelit table, filling the air with the scent of flambéd cognac, whisky, pernod or sweet, caramelised Grand Marnier. Steeped in a rich Franco-Scottish tradition, our passionate chefs bring seasonal, locally sourced classics (the names Thermidor, Bonne Femme, Diane, Wellington, Chateaubriand, crêpe Suzette, and, of course, Scottish smoked salmon echo down the ages) to a smart, convivial contemporary audience. The Strathearn is also the home of the legendary Gleneagles breakfast and Sunday lunch.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Hotel dining room”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Strathearn beats any other hotel dining room we have eated at, anywhere in the world. wide range on the menu, efficient staff waiting on your table dispite the number of covers this restaurant has.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    90
    31
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dining in style”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely restaurant and a bonus was the piano player while we ate.
This is the first time we have been disappointed with our meal in
this restaurant - my husband and I both chose the carvery and did
not enjoy the beef at all. We had asked for medium rare and it was inedible. However, the next evening we had the fish and it
was delicious.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfingmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The service, food and atmosphere is fantastic, truly faultless.
Highly recommended not one to miss!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hopey666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linlithgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent five star food and wine”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We've now eaten here twice, once before the refurbishment and now afterwards.

All in all very, very good. Food absolutely first class, coupled with an excellent wine list and perfect, attentive service. Atmosphere and decor lend to an overall dining experience that compares favourably with other comparable restaurants.

Expensive but to be expected.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steelbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a wonderful lunch 5 star food and service on a beautiful spring day.

The only sour note was a glass(125ml) of house Champagne cost £19.50 each
also coffee and tea cost £10.00 together

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strathearn also viewed

Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Strathearn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing