We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning lodge for a relaxing break”

Review of Braes Lodge

Braes Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Braes Lodge
First snowfall Bright and airy during the day, cosy at night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Braes Lodge
First snowfall
Bright and airy during the day, cosy at night
Hot tub with view over Loch Kinardochy
Views over Schiehallion
Leather sofas, DVD's and a wood burning stove
Kitchen
Wood burning stove
Classic Morgan for Braes Lodge guest rental
Braes Lodge setting
Covered balcony for alfresco dining
King sized bed with Egyptian cotton sheets
Luxury soap
Rainfall shower
View across Loch Kinardochy
Winter visitors at Braes Lodge
Braes Lodge Morgan at Loch Kinardochy
Style and Nostalgia - Braes Lodge Morgan Experience
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan L
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning lodge for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We booked this beautiful little lodge for a couple of days at Hogmanay in order to get away from it all and just relax. We couldn't have been more impressed with the place. It has been finished to such a high quality, and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need and a whole lot more! Mandy greeted us with a friendly welcome and showed us round and insisted that if we needed anything that she was only a phone call away. Needless to say we didn't have to phone her because they have thought of everything.

I can't decide what was more relaxing the amazing hot-tub or the luxurious huge bed! To top it all off the lovely welcome hamper included a bottle of bubbly, a very nice touch.

I can say for definite that we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
1 review
“A little piece of heaven!!”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights mid November and we never wanted to leave! The lodge is beautiful, equipped with everything you could possibly need for a perfect few days of peace, quiet and relaxation. The lodge is located nearish the town of Aberfeldy, it is a little out the way but that's exactly what we were looking for.

From the moment we decided to book, we received excellent communication from the owners, Mandy & Ian, any questions we had were promptly answered.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Mandy and shown around the lodge, the pictures on here and their website do not do it justice! It has the comfiest bed ever and the most amazing hot tub, the views from the hot tub are incredible! It has a fully equipped kitchen, free sat tv, some DVDs and books to borrow. You can also arrange for a food shop to be delivered to the lodge for your arrival! There are plenty of walks and things to do in the surrounding area.

I can not recommend Braes Lodge enough if you are looking for a quiet, romantic/relaxing getaway with the bonus of some of the most beautiful views in Scotland....enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back to nature, but in style!”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We (couple in 50s) spent a lovely few days at the Braes lodge in October 2014; the adventure started when we - non-locals and arriving late after nightfall - were unable to find the lodge, but thankfully our fantastic hosts drove all the way down the hill to pick us up and show us the way to our hideaway! On arrival, we especially appreciated the welcome humper with local Scottish produce with all you need for a nice breakfast!

The lodge itself proved to be as impressive as advertised: over-equipped with anything you could wish for: remote location and tranquility, waking up to beautiful views of the loch which make you feel your are completely alone in the wilderness, while providing the comfort for people like us who do not want to "rough it out" in a sleeping bag next to a campfire but occasionally enjoy a warm shower and a cup of freshly brewed coffee with the sights and sounds of nature; if you want you can even watch from the comfort of your hot tub on the porch!

The weather gods were on our side: while the rest of Europe was suffering from rainfall, the Schottish highlands had a few days of sun, saturating the loch and the surrounding hills with magic autumn light at dusk and dawn. Strangely, it takes away the pressure to do anything - instead, one feels compelled to watch and wonder...and take fotographs, of course. If you have to do some light work or watch your stocks, Internet works too, but the connection speed won't be the same as in your office - it's best to minimize both activities;)

So while some would already be perfectly happy to just enjoy the comfort of the lodge and wind down for a few days, we took a slightly more active approach by driving around and visiting the Dewer destillery (very impressive, includes lots of history and Whisky tasting for the uninitiated) and the Stirling castle which is very beautiful after its multi-decade renovation and allows a glimpse into the life of nobility in those times. Not a bad lifestyle, but somehow we were not jealous when returning to the lodge!

In summary: highly recommended for de-stressing, nature loving, bonding with your spouse and enjoying the Scottish Highlands! Many thanks to the hosts Mandy and Ian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfort of lodge, the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Superb!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I recently spent 8 nights at Braes Lodge during a 3-week 4-location holiday in Scotland. The Lodge is beautifully designed and furnished, extremely well-equipped, was spotlessly clean and is superbly located only 300 metres or so from Loch Kinardochy, with stunning views over the loch and of the forests and mountains. The owners (Mandy & Ian) live next door and couldn't have been more helpful. The Lodge's location makes it a perfect base for touring highland Perthshire and there are some wonderful drives/walks in the area - we'd recommend drives through Glen Lyon, Glen Quaich and around Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch. And the Courtyard Restaurant at Mains of Taymouth (just 5 miles or so down the road at Kenmore) offers excellent food at very reasonable prices throughout the day. But, as a wildlife and landscape photographer, the highlight for me was spending the evenings on the Lodge's covered balcony watching and photographing the sunsets and swirling mists over the loch and seeing Ospreys flying over and diving into the water in their quest for an evening meal - just superb!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design, furnishings and location of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAMac84
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge in perfect surroundings!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We visited Braes Lodge to celebrate a birthday. The lodge exceeded expectations - beautiful, immaculate and contains everything you need for a short break, the owners have thought of everything! The log fire and hottub were definitely the highlights, and the surroundings stunning. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to get away for a treat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing