We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best self catering cottage in UK”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Cottage
Island Pond
Outdoor wood burning sauna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LauraDPJC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best self catering cottage in UK”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

In our opinion this is the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in around the UK. And we have stayed in a fair few! The location is just perfect, the scenery and local area were everything we were looking for. There are all the local amenities within 10 minutes that you could need and plenty of local attractions to keep you busy. The cottage itself is cosy, picturesque, well equipped, warm and ticked all the boxes. The sauna and hot tub were wonderful extra's. We used the hot tub quite a lot and the view from it is amazing. We enjoyed the fire pit to keep us warm on those chillier evenings. The kitchen and dining room is fully equipped with everything you need and more! I stayed with my husband and child and the accommodation made our holiday. John the owner is incredibly helpful but practically unseen, what he has here is something very special and we have already booked for next year.

Can't wait!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thank you for your amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Kind regards
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul3368
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with great facilities.”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at the cottage for a weekend in the middle of April and made full use of the hot tub and the fabulous wood burning sauna.

The property is on the quiet North bank of the River Tay and is set in lovely surroundings.

The cottage has two upstairs bedrooms with extremely comfortable beds and lovely fresh bed coverings. There is a toilet on the landing between the bedrooms.

Downstairs there is a cosy sitting room with an open fire., which we made good use of. The bathroom/shower, a roomy dining room, with a wood burning stove and a well equipped kitchen.

The cottage has lots of nice touches, including toiletries, just like a hotel, robes for venturing out to the hot tub/ sauna and a although we are not whiskey drinkers, I was very impressed by the tray at the top of the stairs.

John was a great host and showed us around when we arrived. Other than that he gave us our privacy for the weekend.

A great find and I would recommend this little gem to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed everything. As I used to be a hotelier, I try to make it a home from home with things you would expect and a mini hotel . We hope to see you again.
Regards
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We discovered 'The Ferry' on Trip Advisor. It looked superb and did not disappoint on arrival! Greeted by John, the owner, he is friendly and accommodating.

The cottage is sumptuously appointed and is always warm. It’s a home from home and easy to fall in love with top quality furnishing and bedding and lots of special touches, like a little local Whiskey, that makes it special. The log burner and open fire are a treat.

Outside the beautiful woodland gardens are complemented by the river. You can walk, fish, use the superb hot tub with or sauna.

Our stay was such a welcome departure from day to day life due to it being so tranquil and relaxing. It is also dog-friendly!

It’s a fantastic experience and already one of our friends has booked due to our entire enthusiasm for this stunning place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thank you for the amazing review. We are glad you found the cottage warm and well equiped. We try to make our cottage a 'home from home' and are so glad it did not disappoint. Thank you also for recommending the cottage to your friends. We will make sure they are well looked after.
Regards
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lab201169
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“relaxing,peacefull break”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

lovely cottage with amazing river tay views.we spent every day fishing,playing pool and in the hot tub and sauna.aberfeldy cafes and pubs very dog friendly.can recommend highland safari café in dull.we are planning to book again for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the facilities and the peace and quiet. We look forward to seeing you next year
Kind regards
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveFife...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent facilities and location”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Brilliant,relaxing long weekend.Beautiful cottage and fantastic facilities with loads of room to walk the dogs in the enclosed grounds.Beautiful views overlooking River Tay and free fishing as well.Plenty of places to go nearby and the pubs in nearby Aberfeldy all very dog friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thank you fir your amazing review. Glad you enjoyed the space to walk the dogs and the fishing.
Kind regards
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing