We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$110
Booking.com
Hotels.com$110
eDreams
Priceline$111
Travelocity$110
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
288
200
70
43
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
288
200
70
43
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews theme park complimentary glass of wine afternoon tea m ds scones function suite ground floor walk in shower black pudding evening meal great value for money one night stay high standard agonda loch gary marquee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2022

One night stay en route to Scottish Highlands. First impression - poor. Litter strewn around carpark and lots of crushed cigarette stubs around the main entrance. Receptionist polite and efficient. Told us a wedding party was booked into the ballroom but she had allocated us a room away from possible noise. Room warm and cosy with comfortable bed although the overall feel of the place was clean but shabby. At 6pm went to restaurant for dinner. Single waitress couldn't manage number of diners. Dinner was slow, 2 hours. The restaurant was being used as a thoroughfare by the wedding guests to get to the bar. Food was OK but nothing outstanding and very expensive. Wedding disco started at 8pm. The ballroom is a canvas marquee attached to the hotel and quite close to guest bedrooms. The noise levels in our room were bad and were massively intrusive preventing sleep. Expected this racket to stop at 11pm, after all even Glastonbury has to stop at 11pm in consideration of neighbours. It took almost an hour to contact any member of hotel staff only to be told the bar licence was extended to half past midnight. Staff member was not helpful and almost dismissive of my concerns. Disco did eventually shut down at 12:30am. Breakfast next day was not good. Heated products were mostly dried up, eggs looked awful, sausage like biscuits - the only things that was any good were the hash browns. Will not return under any circumstances, wedding or no wedding.

Room tip: Check if there is a wedding celebration during your stay, rooms at rear overlook canvas marquess ballroom.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 May 2022 via mobile

Came here overnight on trip back from islands as good value on Booking.com and a 4 star hotel.
We asked for a quiet room and we’re rung and promised a quiet room at the rear of the hotel - great start!
Arrived and looked like a bit of a tired hotel in terms of facilities. Location is great. - close to motorway and towns for restaurants etc. by car. The room looked nice and we were at the back, but windows were able to be fully opened on ground floor and we could easily here a bowling alley!
We then found that the toilet kept on running water and was not able to be used. The receptionist kindly gave us another room to use.
The bar didn’t have much beer choice and the only seating was in the restaurant.
Beds were okay and shower very nice.
Breakfast was okay, with no muesli or skimmed milk or marmalade available, only fried eggs available. Apart from that it was good and the service from the waitress and chef very good. The whole cost including breakfast was £68 for 2 people which is excellent.
We found out later that there was ten pin bowling available, but we were not told by anyone!
Overall very good value for money, but don’t expect excellence or a 4 star experience

Room tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the bowling alley. Ask for what facilities are available
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 March 2022 via mobile

Just went for a late Sunday lunch food terrible .Ordered breaded Brie with cranberry chutney cooked to death like a brick Brie ran out like cream. Roast beef dinner frozen roast potatoes Yorkshire pudding cold inside .Spoke to the general manager he said we don’t use frozen food here but another member of staff said we buy our roast potatoes in prepared totally inedible had to send it back will not darken the door again.

Room tip: Drive by quickly
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L814HJstephenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 February 2022 via mobile

Gary made our stay amazing. Don't get me wrong the hotel is lovely the location is lovely. There's plenty of parking the maids did a great job on our room and the bar and waiting staff were excellent but Gary made it special.

I rang up the night before to say I was travelling with three children and what time could I check in so that we could enjoy the visit to my family in Glasgow without bags.

Gary told me that he would be on in the morning and that if the room was ready I could go straight up before heading out.

We got there for 11am after a lovely drive from Newcastle and Gary recognised us as soon as we walked in. We had a lovely friendly welcome , we're able to drop off our bags and we're picked up by my brother, leaving our car safe at the hotel.

The next morning Gary checked on us again as I took the children out for a walk around the lake. He was incredibly attentive and made a great stay superb.

Thank you to all the team but especially to Gary.

Room tip: They will let 4 share a room with a pull down double sofa so ideal for me with three children.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 January 2022 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a stop off on a very long drive to the Highlands so location & value were key. But, we were bowled over. The room was big, clean, modern & comfortable but even better was the warm welcome from all of the staff. We ate on site - £15.95 for a 3 course dinner is incredible !!!! Lovely food made well. Breakfast the next day was a cooked buffet style which is not my favourite but given the price we paid was a good start to the day. When we asked for extra tea & sugar for the room they also brought extra chocolate biscuits …. yay! Being able to stroll round the loch was great after breakfast and before jumping in the car for another long day.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MrsJGLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews