We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 100
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 65
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dakota Eurocentral(Motherwell)
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridgeland House(Motherwell)
US$ 108
US$ 105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bentley Hotel(Motherwell)
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel(Motherwell)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston's Inns - Raven’s Cliff(Motherwell)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
221
170
53
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
170
53
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheme parkcomplimentary glass of wineglasshouse restaurantafternoon teacaramel waferstrathclyde parkboy racerson arrivalm dscar parksconesfirst class servicerecommend this hotel to anyonewedding venuelarge roomsuperior roomwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Booked a night away with my partner after deciding we deserved a night away. Trip was great value for money £89 which included breakfast buffet. Check in was very quick and was offered to book a table at the restaurant for in the evening (which we did).

Room was spotless with walk in shower. Room temperature was spot on but could easily be adjusted. Bed was comfortable you also had access to the Hotel WI-Fi.

Both of our meals were fantastic from starters to dessert . The service was great as well and left the right amount of time between meals in a nice relaxed environment.

Breakfast Buffet in the morning was the usual choices of Sausages, Bacon, Egg, beans, Toast and cereal but was delicious and someone was always keeping an eye on the hot plate.

My only problem was that the only cash machines they had in the Hotel or nearby charged for withdrawals- something I️ should have expected.

All in all it was a lovely night away.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tomG8327GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive comments and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay
I look forward to welcoming you again to the Alona Hotel
Kind regards
Ian Donnachie
General Manager
Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel overnight on our journey back home from a holiday in Scotland. The check in was quick and efficient and done by a very friendly man on reception. The room was the normal chain hotel bedroom but was bright and modern with a decent TV and good selection of channels. Walk in shower was much appreciated. The evening meal in the restaurant ( there is no separate bar serving meals ) was very good with a reasonable choice and good service. The breakfast was disappointing – the cooked option was reasonable and was the usual choice of eggs bacon etc. The continental option however consisted solely of cereals and yoghurt with no cold meats, cheese or fresh bread options. Nevertheless, we certainly felt that the stay was well worth repeating next time we travel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaspydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Guest
thank you for you positive comments regarding the hotel and your overnight stay. I am a little surprised at your breakfast comments as we always have a selection of pastries and danishes as well as fresh bread for toast and rolls. We also provide selection of grapefruit,and peaches as well as fresh fruit. I am pleased the rest of the stay was to your satisfaction and we would be delighted to welcome you again to the Alona Hotel
Kind Regards
General Manager
Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Stayed overnight in order to babysit. Was very pleasantly surprised at how lovely this hotel is. The room was excellent with lovely furnishings and toiletries. There was even a Tunnocks Caramel Wafer biscuit which was a plus for us! We had food delivered to room and it was lovely and plentiful. I live locally and would not have much need to stay again but I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling near or visiting the area. It is definitely one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MQ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive comments and we are delighted that you were so impressed with your stay.
Should you need to stay again or indeed visit us for lunch od dinner then I would be very happy to welcome you again to the Alona Hotel.
Kind Regards
General Manager
Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We recently stayed at the Alona Hotel after a wedding there. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The check in staff was professional but not very friendly or helpful. Our reservation was mixed up and the man at the front desk was not very accommodating or helpful. He relied on us to sort out the confusion. As someone who works in the hotel industry, I found his performance lacking. The staff at the wedding reception was professional and polite. We were disappointed to see that the bartenders were serving minors without asking for identification. The noise from the reception went on well past 11:00 PM without the hotel staff doing anything to accommodate the guests that needed to sleep. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds firm and very comfortable. The morning breakfast buffet was flavorful and had an ample selection of items. All in all it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the reception pavilion.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely young lady, who had already been extremely helpful the previous day whilst I booked over the phone. Gave me all the help regarding passes into theme park. The package we received was perfect for us, cannot fault it in any way. Right next door to theme park and so handy for multitude of choices of restaurants and activities.
Only slight moan would be that the room was VERY warm, even when we'd turned heater off and sofa bed was very uncomfortable. Maybe someone who wasn't quite as light a sleeper as myself may find the sofa comfy. But really overall, the hotel is beautiful and clean. Loved the decor, bathroom was perfect. Staff couldn't be more helpful.
Even down to someone parked right below our window very late at night, sitting in car, playing music we could hear very clearly from our room. Phoned down to reception and someone dealt with it instantly.

Room Tip: Never heard a thing from corridor or other rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank junecraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews