We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$171
Vio.com
eDreams$171
Agoda.com$172
Etrip
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
349
138
38
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
349
138
38
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family wedding food was amazing huge bed steak pie from start to finish lovely room an overnight stay bed and breakfast family room venue meal menu function iron portions wardrobe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2022

A party of 8 booked Dinner at Dalziel Park Hotel restaurant, part of the renowned Lizini Group, on Saturday 6th August 2022. Originally there were 10 people within the party however two of the party became unwell with COVID. This special occasion meal was to celebrate my In-laws Golden Wedding Anniversary.

Our reservation was for 1930hrs. We were promptly shown to our seats and were served a round of drinks. At approx 1950hrs, a waitress came towards the table and asked if we were ready to order. We gave our order at 1950hrs, none of which included starters, just main courses including Chateaubriand which was offered on the menu. We sat and waited until 2115hrs before we were served our food. In between times the waitress attended the table again asking if we wanted a further round of drinks which we did. To say we were both extremely hungry and bitterly disappointed at the abhorrent lack of service and on this special family occasion would be understanding the frustration and anger we had. When the Chateaubriand arrived it looked less than I have ever seen in any restaurant before. Priced at over £65 per serving, in my opinion, including the side garnishes, there was not enough for two people and two of our party were still left feeling hungry after this. We were not even offered an apology for the pitiful length of time we waited for our food to come for the kitchen. This to me is extremely poor and substandard customer service. I counted a total of 9 waiting staff including two managers and one serving behind the bar. Surely, a recognition to the fact we had waited for 1 hour and 25mins to be served our food should have been a key priority in exacting a standard of customer service - sadly this was not the case.

Following the main course, some of the party ordered a desert and another asked for a coffee. Again we waited in excess of 30mins for the deserts to be served. Upon arrival to the table, the waitress (who was older), mixed up the original order and began to put down another tables order. Moreover, she also mixed up the order amongst the table but had no remorse or apology to give. We then noticed her and another of her colleagues pull faces, presumably about us which I find disgusting to be honest. Owing to the amount of mirrored glass within the restaurant, she should have known better - simply don’t do it and have some respect for yourself.

When we were presented with the bill, after some light scrutiny, we noticed that we had been charged £22.50 for a bottle of wine that we neither drank nor ordered. Additionally, we were charged for 4 pints of lager as opposed to two (noting the empty glasses were on the table for hours). We were also charged for deserts that we didn’t order including those brought by the waitress who messed up the order. In pointing this out, the waitress, looking annoyed and angry at us for highlighting the error, went away and brought back a revised bill which was just she of £40 less. This is not on folks. This is blatant fraud on your part. If not, sort yourselves out and train your staff better.

In all honestly, as a family who use all of the lisini group restaurants very regularly each month across the whole of Lanarkshire, even during the covid times, we can safely say that what should have been a joyous occasion turned into a real disappointment all around. We will not be back to any of the group restaurants going forward and feel undervalued as loyal customers. Poor show Dalziel Park - I would have thought a switch around in restaurant management would have teased out the nuances but clearly not. I would have asked for a full refund of the £300 we paid last night only not to embarrass my in laws we just left utterly disappointed. Shame on you and your customer service. My advice, don’t eat here going forward.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gav_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lisa Clark, Sales at Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2022

Good afternoon,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. Can you please contact us directly on dalziel@lisini.co.uk to allow our restaurant manager to discuss this with you further.
Kind regards,
Lisa Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2022 via mobile

As a regular to this place as its local to us, we always look forward to visiting for breakfasts and dinners whenever we can. Lots of our family have bought us many vouchers as they know how much we use it.

So we had booked a table and turned up on time. When we arrived we were told our table wasn’t ready and some people were still at it and could we take a seat in waiting area! The place was empty except for a large party table. Every single window seat for 2 was empty except 1. So we didn’t understand why we were waiting for a table when literally there was 3 at window and two at the other sides of the booths empty. Anyway they eventually worked out we could have a table and then placed us in the big corner table tucked between the exit door and till!! Had to ask why here and could we not get a window seat or the bench seats! They then said ohh the one available hasn’t been cleaned yet and sat us at a dirty table while 3 other tables sat empty!!! Can not understand this at all!! I could see the point if we were walk ins, but we had booked and the other bookings weren’t even in yet the tables were empty! Also the corner tables we were put at are usually used for when u attend with kids as there isn’t much space at the other tables.

Anyway once settled we ordered our drinks. No jug of water offered to table - this is standard in Dalziel and every other table before and after us we’re offered this. When I asked for some water with my wine I was given 1 glass. Honestly felt like we were being treated like second class citizens was very embarrassed and annoyed by the service.

The main meal chicken fillet and goats cheese starter were lovely as usual. However the prawn cocktail was well below usual standard. The prawns didn’t taste fresh and tasted like poor frozen quality - tiny, no taste and rubbery. The Marie Rose sauce was awful like water mixed with tomato sauce. So runny and no taste at all. The salad was a couple of spoonfuls and the leaves were brown at the bottom. For £8 this was bitterly disappointing and definitely not up to the usual standard. The cheesecake was also fairly reduced in size and the texture was more like a chocolate mouse.

All in all felt let down by our experience and had been so looking forward to it as only recently reopened full time. Also the seating situation needs addressed it’s not fair having a booking and others getting preferential treatment of tables being kept when they are arriving a good bit later. We were there a good 40 mins/1 hour before any of the other window seats were even occupied, so why we couldn’t get one or why we got a dirty one I will never understand. We would have been treated better walking in off the street.

However big shout out to the new tall older gentleman waiter serving us. He was an absolute gem and a credit to Dalziel he helped with lots of the issues and seemed to be the only one with some common sense, his customer service skills were on point and he oozed class and quality.

We were going to book for breakfast in the morning with the family but after this experience we didn’t bother.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PicklemonsterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lisa Clark, Sales at Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2022

Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to get in touch. I believe our restaurant manager has been in touch with you directly regarding your disappointing experience at Dalziel Park. We take all feedback on board and will focus on staff training so that this is not repeated in future.
Kind regards,
Lisa Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2022 via mobile

Pleasant enough hotel with very nice bedrooms. Evening meal okay, breakfast very good and overall good value for money. I nearly awarded 4 stars but unfortunately the toilets near the reception were in a bit of a state in the evening and still the same when I uses them after breakfast. Staff were friendly but could probably do with some training as they couldn’t answer relatively straightforward questions. They were very young and maybe new at the job. Only small adjustments needed to increase the rating. Would stop here again if in the area.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank terrycJ2425TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lisa Clark, Sales at Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2022

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay however I will pass your comments onto Senior Management regarding the toilets and staff training. We do appreciate your feedback as we want our guests to have the best experience possible. We will look forward to seeing you again and hopefully you will see an improvement first hand. Kind regards, Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022

Local to DL Park and been weekly customer prior to Covid was really disappointed tonight with food - starters over cooked and tasteless - fish was lovely but nice chunky chips three years ago now were frozen and greasy and mushy peas no minty taste- really disappointed to suggest table of 6 came and spent money here tonight!

Date of stay: July 2022
Thank 253caroleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lisa Clark, Sales at Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Good afternoon,
We appreciate you leaving your review. We take all feedback on board and use this to constantly try and improve on our food and service. I will be sure to pass this onto the head chef and general manager.
We do hope that this has not put you off and you will return in future to give us another chance.
Kind regards,
Lisa Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2022

I lived locally to Dalziel Park and visited frequently. But since moving away 3 years ago I haven’t been able to return.

We visited on a Sunday afternoon, the restaurant was very quiet, and the waitress wanted to seat us next to the till area- I asked if we could sit at the window (almost all tables were empty) after some thought we were given a window table. The restaurant has been decorated and is looking fantastic.

Starters were fantastic, mains were also beautiful, although I preferred when steak pie was served individually rather than sliced from a larger pie which results in a mass of uncooked soggy pastry.

Desserts were disappointing, sticky toffee was a dry sponge, not very tasty! Pear and frangipane tart sounded lovely, but tart case tasted days old and was soggy rather than crisp as it should be. My apparel spritz wasn’t good, I could tell as soon as it was placed on the table it was wrong as it was the wrong colour, not enough aperol in the glass.

On the whole we had a lovely meal, good value- we’d try different desserts next time and drink wine or bottled drinks rather than any kind of cocktail.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Clarabel38175
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lisa Clark, Sales at Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2022

Good afternoon,

We are pleased that you were able to come back and visit us at Dalziel Park and appreciate you taking the the time to leave your review.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your meal. We do take all feedback on board so I will be sure to pass this on to the manager and head chef. We are just about to launch our new menu as we reopen 7 days a week.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Lisa Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews