We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely night at Seamill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely night at Seamill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We're just back from a lovely overnight stay at Seamill. We hadn't stayed overnight in quite a number of years, in fact we think it might have been our wedding there the last time we did! So we were surprised and delighted to find that the "sea view" room we'd been allocated turned out to be the room we'd spent our wedding night in. The sea views are just breathtaking and you could spend hours just looking out over the beach. We had a lovely rolltop bath in the bathroom and a huge kingsize bed, we could have happily just stayed in the room the whole time. Part of what has always appealed about Seamill is the friendly yet highly professional and well trained staff and management and the same high standards are still being maintained. There has been a lot of investment in the hotel and we loved the new look of the Aura restaurant - the food, service and value for money were all excellent. We're also looking forward to seeing the new Orangery restaurant and the spa when it is developed. We didn't make much use of the facilities other than the restaurant, but the pool looked lovely (we understand it has been refurbished too). In terms of other attractions in the locality, West Kilbride has some really lovely little craft shops and enterprises - details in this link - http://www.crafttownscotland.org/. I'd perhaps missed it in the hotel, but I think that Seamill Hydro could maybe make more of its proximity to the craft town.

Overall, a lovely time, we'll make a date to visit again when the new restaurant is open.

Room Tip: The sea views are stunning and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    366
    165
    79
    63
See reviews for
379
508
16
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Usually, the opportunity to attend a dinner event along with some two hundred others fills me with foreboding.
In my experience, the outcome in the past has almost always been one of fearful compromise : either the sizeable premises required to host such numbers are tired looking and in desparate need of investment or , on the catering side, the meal is a mean-looking affair totally devoid of flair, or appeal.
To endure both is a far from uncommon experience.
How refreshing then, to be a guest only last night at a Gala Dinner in the Seamill Hydro Hotel.
In a setting which was at once spacious, warm, and elegantly set out both in terms of the decor and the attention paid to the table settings, I enjoyed a beautifully prepared and presented quality meal all served with an efficiency which could realistically not have been bettered had the staff had only one tenth of that number to cater for.
I opted for roast sirloin of beef as a main course which was nothing short of mouth watering .
With it's superb location and views across to Arran, this is a hotel that is obviously putting in a lot of effort and commitment..... and getting it just right in the process.

Ian.
Lanark.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Called in on Saturday 24th March 2012 to be faced with an afternoon tea for two which was so ample that my wife and I were unable to finish it, which was a pity considering the food was first rate. Given that the room was remarkably busy with people attending a wedding later in the day, the service was first class.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marrus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This family owned hotel has it all and has achieved a winning formula. Friendly, well selected staff at all levels, comfortable bedrooms, quality food served at dinner with exquisite presentation, great leisure facilities and the most beautiful location. I've never felt so welcomed in any other Scottish hotel. Unlike in many other hotels, hot Scottish breakfast is cooked to order.
There were several private functions taking place within the hotel but this did not diminish the excellent service we received in the Aura restaurant with a choice of food from 3 menus. The young Manager in the restaurant deserves special recognition for his professionalism.
We picked the best weekend of the year so far to be there as the sun shone all day Saturday and Sunday, 17th/18th March making the views across to the Isle of Arran quite spectacular.
Look forward to a return visit once the new Orangery restaurant is open for business.

Room Tip: I always like to be on the top floor of any hotel so that there is no noise coming from above your a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We went for a meal after a heavy day of cleaning! We did not need to book as it was midweek. There is a lot of building work at present so the Tapas Bar was closed but we were given menues for both restaurants.
The selection was good and the food was presented well. Some of the dishes were perhaps a bit unbalanced, that is one flavour overpowering all the others. The prices however were reasonable, less than I expected.
The wine selection was good and well served.
The atmospere was lacking, but it was midweek and the closed restaurants meant staff were spread out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hortonkirbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
21.7 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.4 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
22.3 km away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Brisbane House Hotel
6.3 km away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
28.9 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,675 - ₹ 13,285
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing