We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
110
52
26
16
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
52
26
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chip shop static caravan swimming pool lovely site shop on site touring caravan touring area lovely park holiday park shower block bar restaurant kids club entertainment complex school holidays pay by card clean site entertainment staff
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed. Prices go up but standards go down. Dog bins weren’t emptied throughout the weekend so bags were overflowing and left at the base.

Swimming pool is to be avoided big time
Not one of the cubicles (showers/toilets) lock, holes in walls, rubber skirting pealing off walls, most lockers don’t have keys, safety grab rail at edge of pool has broken brackets, pool is un-supervised so rules of the pool area are ignored. Foot ware being worn in the pool area, folk jumping in the pool, drink being taken into pool area. Showers are faulty and sticking on with temperatures being unpredictable.
Sauna and steam room both closed and marked out of order.

Pool was a disgrace last time we visited silver sands and have only deteriorated since.

It is clear that all the profit is being spent purchasing more static caravans to increase income instead of maintaining what is already here.

Spoke to one static caravan owner who is concerned that the conditions have dropped so much that she might not be able to sell her van.

Some touring pitches had cones placed in them because power points were also faulty.

Over all quality of this site and facilities has dropped below what would be expected as basic standards.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CharlesMckellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServices33, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CharlesMckellar
Thanks for posting your comments. We’re sorry our park did not meet your expectations, we will feed back all your comments to the relevant teams and give them some careful consideration. We would be really grateful if you would call Carol on 01343 813 262 to discuss your issues in more detail and to explain the activity we have planned over the winter months.
Kind regards
The Silver Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Just arrived today,have been coming here for years checked in and was given a caravan nearly in Lossiemouth it's that far away from complex.
Before we went into caravan we called the reception to ask to get moved nearer but was told Park will be full next week,and can't be moved this was only sat at 1 pm.poor show will never return which is a Shame kids love Park.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thebruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServices33, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear thebruins
Thanks for taking the time to review our park. We are sorry you were not happy with the location of your accommodation and we were unfortunately unable to move you, if we are made aware of any special requests at the time of booking, we always do our best to accommodate. We hope you may choose to visit us again in the future, it’s great to know your kids love the park.
Kind regards
The Silver Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We stayed at caravan Sandyway 14 . It was fab. The van itself was just luxury and it had everything we needed and more. We loved the location and only minuites from the beach. . the French windows looked onto the decking where there was plenty of room to eat or just take in the view and chill.
Another good point about the van is it has a bath, great if you have kids and another bonus an extra TV in the bedroom.
There is plenty to do on site as well for all ages also good food in the bar restaurant where we ate most nights. We recommend this site and the van and will be back. Stayed May 2018.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ronnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServices33, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Ronnie13
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it’s much appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were so impressed with your accommodation and that everything was to your satisfaction and more. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
The Silver Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

From the start i was made to feel welcome. The two ladies in reception was very welcoming and helpful. Caravan was very clean and in a lovely location on the new build part of the site which was good for watching the planes coming into the nearby raf base. Be warned they are noisey on takeoff. Facilities was good. Food was lovely and not over priced. It is right next to the beach which is lovely for a walk along to see if you can spot the seals. Will definitely be returning to silver sands next year as ideally located for exploring.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServices33, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Shaun C

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it's much appreciated. We're delighted you received a warm welcome upon your arrival and found your accommodation clean and in a great location. It's great to know you had time to take some lovely walks on the beach and found our food lovely. We look forward seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
The Silver Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We booked this deal last minute....we arrived a day late and we arrived at 6pm when office was shut. However we were looked after by Sean the Warden who was delightful. It was not unitl we were in our 2 bedroom Deluxe caravan that we noticed there was no toilet roll.....neither was there any towels to even dry our hands. We contacted Sean who very kindly supplied us with toilet roll and towels. (the basics). We were in caravan 106 right across form a mobile home where two dogs where tied to the the mobile and barked all day long. Also the caravan was right beside reception...it was like a motorway with tractors etc. We arrived a day late and left a day early. We will not be returning.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServices33, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Trish M
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are delighted that you found our Warden, Sean to be so helpful. We do have Essentials packs available to order in advance but the holidays we provide are self-catering. It does clearly state on our website and in all our materials that bedding is provided but towels are not. We do encourage our guests to let us know of any issues whilst on park, if you had called our Warden (the number is in the welcome pack provided) we would have been happy to help with many of your issues. We are sorry your holiday with us did not meet expectations.
Kind regards
The Silver Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews