We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Lasswade
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant and bar in Lasswade cater for everyone great family area, amazing cakes and carvery is served everyday
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the Elginhaugh for a family meal. We were left waiting for our table for 10 minutes as numerous members of staff walked past us and ignored us. Eventually we managed to get the manager to seat us. We were seated at a dirty table and asked him to clean it which he said he would. 20 minutes later, we decided to clean the table ourselves. The food arrived and was ok but the food was never cleared away- we had to clear the table again before our deserts came. The restaurant was by no means busy and overall service was very bad. Manager was aware of us not being happy but did not make an effort to improve our experience.

Thank beccajackson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi thanks for getting in touch and letting us know of your experience whilst dining with us, I do apologise for the problems you encountered during your visit, we will investigate your comments and speak to the manager on shift that night to find out why it went so wrong and certainly do not expect our customers to clean tables themselves. Again i do apologise and hope given in time you can visit us again to show we can get it right.

Thanks again
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited elganhaugh farm food was lovely makes a change to actually have hot food on the carvery some places have cold dried out veg , but here it was fresh & hot , staff were pleasant especially the guy on the bar Scott his customer service was excellent ,he was very welcoming, very approachable nothing was too much bother for him, I would recommend this place .

Thank jacquie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI thanks for leaving us a review regarding your recent visit to the Elginhaugh farm, glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and service provided by the team, we will pass on your comments to Scott am sure he will be very pleased and happy to hear about the kind words you have said about him, Hope to see you again soon

Thanks again

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very healthy portion sizes and very friendly staff, a great place to come for a meal, we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Roving66120191964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the lovely review its much appreciated, hope to see you again soon

Thank again
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I are just home from elginhaugh, this place is becoming a favourite with my boys aged 10 and 7 the menu has a great variety of meals that the boys can choose from alongside the choice of carvery. I love the kids area as the boys don't have to sit at the table 'bored' if dad and I are still eating. On our visits the food has always been great, I LOVE THE CARVERY! the roast beef was cooked to perfection ❤ the staff were all very welcoming and pleasant, my son was fair chuffed he was asked if he wanted to take his cake home although it wasn't in the best state (as you can imagine after a child's been hacking at it)
The only thing I would say is the meat carvers could use a little smile, i fully understand its a long day standing behind that counter over heating, but it's a pleasant place and you kinda feel like your being a nuisance going up and asking for your meal.

Thank d0nna91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi thank you for leaving us a lovely review regarding your visit, we will pass all your lovely words onto the team and glad you always enjoy your meals when you visit, we will speak to the chef involved at the carvery as we certainly do not want our customers to feel like there being a nuisance, hope we will see you again

Thanks again
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Went here on Thursday 1st November. As soon as we walked in, we should have just turned and walked out. But we decided to give them the benefit of our doubts. Queue was about 25 people waiting to place orders for dr8nks and food. There were at the point 2 members of staff behind the bar, but very quickly, this went down to 1 staff member. Staff were running around trying to clear tables , running with plates of hot food, all.while trying dodge kids using this place as their own playground. After getting the wrong order, I went to speak to duty manager, who just kept repeating, "We're short staffed and only have 4 front of house servers". If that was the case the place should not have been open. Having said all that, it is good value for breakfast, nothing like the shambles in the evening. One further point worth stating, some adults dump there kids in the play area and use it as a creche. My 3 year old grandson was assaulted by 2 horrible people old age I might add, but because they were regulars, staff refused to give the police the offenders names.

1  Thank theurkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi could you please email us a 5669@greeneking.co.uk as we need to investigate this further.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery also viewed

 
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing