We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley stuffed 😁”

Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Lasswade
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant and bar in Lasswade cater for everyone great family area, amazing cakes and carvery is served everyday
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

My family and I are just home from elginhaugh, this place is becoming a favourite with my boys aged 10 and 7 the menu has a great variety of meals that the boys can choose from alongside the choice of carvery. I love the kids area as the boys don't have to sit at the table 'bored' if dad and I are still eating. On our visits the food has always been great, I LOVE THE CARVERY! the roast beef was cooked to perfection ❤ the staff were all very welcoming and pleasant, my son was fair chuffed he was asked if he wanted to take his cake home although it wasn't in the best state (as you can imagine after a child's been hacking at it)
The only thing I would say is the meat carvers could use a little smile, i fully understand its a long day standing behind that counter over heating, but it's a pleasant place and you kinda feel like your being a nuisance going up and asking for your meal.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank d0nna91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi thank you for leaving us a lovely review regarding your visit, we will pass all your lovely words onto the team and glad you always enjoy your meals when you visit, we will speak to the chef involved at the carvery as we certainly do not want our customers to feel like there being a nuisance, hope we will see you again

Thanks again
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Went here on Thursday 1st November. As soon as we walked in, we should have just turned and walked out. But we decided to give them the benefit of our doubts. Queue was about 25 people waiting to place orders for dr8nks and food. There were at the point 2 members of staff behind the bar, but very quickly, this went down to 1 staff member. Staff were running around trying to clear tables , running with plates of hot food, all.while trying dodge kids using this place as their own playground. After getting the wrong order, I went to speak to duty manager, who just kept repeating, "We're short staffed and only have 4 front of house servers". If that was the case the place should not have been open. Having said all that, it is good value for breakfast, nothing like the shambles in the evening. One further point worth stating, some adults dump there kids in the play area and use it as a creche. My 3 year old grandson was assaulted by 2 horrible people old age I might add, but because they were regulars, staff refused to give the police the offenders names.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank theurkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi could you please email us a 5669@greeneking.co.uk as we need to investigate this further.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

A large free car park. Nicely welcomed and shown to table. Food served nice and hot. Nice views. The menu had lots of choices.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anthonyj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Food has always been highly enjoyable with several dishes I would recommend. Great customer service and a nice dining environment.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottishBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review regarding your recent visit to Elginhaugh glad to hear that you enjoy the food and service provided by our team see you again soon

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Buffet style breakfast for under £5 along with your bacon,sausages, fried egg ect.you get as much eggs scrambled, baked beans hash browms.toast,tomato as you can eat.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mclatchiegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thanks for the fabulous review our breakfast buffet is a great deal for what you get and includes refill hot drinks and toast not bad for what you pay see you again soon

Thanks again
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery also viewed

 
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing