We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Lasswade
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant and bar in Lasswade cater for everyone great family area, amazing cakes and carvery is served everyday
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

On arrival the manger met us a she was a really friendly lady. The place was busy and with having queue to order and only two tills you did have to wait.

The carvery is what it is and its nice enough. The staff were friendly and I understand the place is family friendly soft play etc...but there surely has to be a balance. Trying to and feed my six month old and children at a table on their own kicking her high chair. And old fella with a tray of drinks nearly knocked down by kids chasing round the restaurant whilst their jabbering mothers looked on and did nothing.

Maybe there needs to be an adult sat at tables of kids to supervise so everyone in the place can actually enjoy it and not just for the parents who see it solely as cheap babysitting

Thank Martyncheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit. With regards to the kids area if we do see them running around we will tell them to stop and go sit at there table or play in the playzone and speak to the parents. If you had mentioned to the team or manger about someone kicking the high chair they would have happily gone over to the table and spoke to the kids and allocate their parents to let them know what was going on. Unfortunately cause our kids area is not manned it is difficult to keep an eye on everything but we do our best when busy with children running around but it does fall down to the parents to keep an eye on them aswell. Will pass on your comments about food and service to the rest of the team. Hopefully this has not put you off visiting us again.

Thanks again
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Excellent Service by the staff especially Daniel and Shola. Nothing was too much. Wish they had a soft play instead of toys that cost a fortune.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank tfitchett44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for you lovely review regarding your recent visit. Both Daniel and Shola are pleased that they got mentioned for the service they provided certainly brightened up their day. We can certainly pass your comments on further about the toy machines. See you again soon

Thanks
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The carvery is cheap, good quality and very short waiting time, would definitely recommend, Have tried the menu as well, good fresh food, but longer waiting time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Cathyslargezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you cathyslargezoo for your brilliant review we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback about your visit glad you enjoyed all aspect of your visit hope to see you again soon

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I like coming here as there is a large play area next to the family dining so the kids can play and be close to us. The food is fine. I love the spicy vegetable and sesame burger. The kids probs are far too big, which I just think is a waste of food and the service is mediocre but it won't stop me coming back.

Thank GreenhillFillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank for leaving us a review regarding your recent visit. We do have the smaller kids portion available on the kids menu which is always an option next time you visit if you feel like too much food is wasted. We will certainly look into ways of improving the service but glad you will still visit us again see you again soon

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The Staff was very good and we did mention our poor roast beef.We would not be in a hurry to recommend the carvery to any of our friends.Very dissapointed about poor quality of the roast beef as that seems to b very popular with most of the customers that go there.There was not enough staff at one oclock when i had booked.Had to wait a bit of time for my booked table which was 49 in the restuarant.My name is mary.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryM5126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management t, Manager at Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mary

Thank you for leaving us a review regarding your recent review am sorry to read that it was disappointing for you and I do apogise for this. We serve so many carvery's everyday of the week and very rarely get complaints about the meat. I can assure you that this was a one off and hope that it has not put you off giving us another try and do hope you visit us again to show that we can get it right. Thanks again

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery also viewed

 
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing