We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely brilliant will definitely be back to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Merlin House

Merlin House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Merlin House
Decking at Merlin House Comfy and cosy, warm and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Merlin House
Decking at Merlin House
Comfy and cosy, warm and inviting living room
Kitchen with lots of equipment inc. slo cooker, juicer,coffee machine, washer etc
Living/dining room. Dine with family and friends looking out over panoramic views over the Clyde
Master bedroom
Driveway to Merlin House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brodick, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
410mauree...
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant will definitely be back to stayxxxx”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Service from Lesley and Dennis 100% we got lost and Dennis came and found us and showed us way to house. Such kindness and helpfulness from Lesley and Dennis. Loved the house every amenity you need for self catering holiday even to providing tea, coffee etc on arrival.
Property spacious and spotless and plenty of outside /inside space to enjoy and relax and such helpful and welcoming landlords.
Loved the views and cats / chickens so peaceful location and has a rustic ambiance. Would definitely recommend to family / friends.
Only issue is the long drive up to house as is pretty steep and quite off putting from going out in the evening and driving back in darkness ... be okay in lighter nights but as we were their in March we did relish drive back to house so restricting us from going out in the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: everything is ideal for self catering holiday so much more spacious than ones I have stayed in all over.
Liked least: Driving in darkness up long hill - as situated up high views are amazing would be great if Dennis and Lesley could shift house to lower level as would be fantastic for every age .. will definitely be going back but not in March .... Summertime
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for such a good review. Yes, the drive is dark but unfortunately that is island life. In June, July August it doesn't get dark until about 11pm and we have hopefully alleviated any immediate problems with lots of solar and electric lighting around the property. There is a patio light but unfortunately there's little we can do about street or driveway lighting as that is in the hands of the council. We are currently upgrading the drive and hopefully will soon be done but in the meantime it is ok providing you are not Lewis Hamilton! Thank you Maureen for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BegoniaJa...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous, cosy retreat, gracious & helpful host - loved it”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I visited Arran for a long weekend and wanted somewhere quiet and cosy to retreat after walking & exploring. Lesley was a very welcoming host and has really considered peoples needs, supplying many little extras that help make your holiday straightforward. The house is comfortable, well equipped and warm. The view is outstandingly beautiful. There are chickens roaming and very friendly cats in this home from home easy place to stay. Really enjoyed it and would be very happy to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of access, the position, the friendly, helpful but unobtrusive host, Tigz the friendly cat, the quiet
Liked least: Having only a few short days to stay!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. I am pleased you liked the little 'extras' we provide as it is those little things that people do not want to have to bring on a short stay. We are adding new things all the time and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UkKaren
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Merlin House”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at Merlin House earlier this month. A lovely location with great sea views and a wonderfully comfortable home. Loads of space and very relaxing and peaceful. Lesley and Dennis are great hosts and made us feel very welcome. We loved seeing the new chickens and joined them for a very enjoyable night out at the pub quiz - which we won! We loved Arran and enjoyed loads of walks in beautiful surroundings with great wildlife sightings - seals, sea otters, golden eagles, red squirrels, deer, dive bombing gannets...... A truly fantastic week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Karen and Neil were great guests and we had good fun at the quiz. We hope they will come back so we can win again! We're capable of losing on our own but need help to win! Yes, our views from here are great and on a clear day you can see across to the mainland. Thank you both for the lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T
2 reviews
“Perfect base for our family adventures in Arran”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great time at Merlin House, it's just a couple of miles up the road from Brodick but felt really peaceful and secluded. The views were great from the decking at the front.

The owner Lesley lives on site in the next house and was very friendly and welcoming. The house was very spacious and idea for a family with 2 children. There are friendly cats living on the site and chickens roaming free which the kids loved.

It was our first visit to Arran and this was a great place to have as a base for exploring the island. You would definitely need to be a traveller with a car though as there is a steep track up the house.

We would definitely consider staying at Merlin House again if we come back to Arran and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends with young kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The track up to the house.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Really glad you had a good time here and we would love to welcome you all back again. Perhaps we'll have even more chicks by then! Hope the track wasn't too daunting but remember if there wasn't the track up then you wouldn't get the great views! It's more of a winding steady rise up rather than one straight track but a plan of improvement for the tarmac is on the cards!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavis o
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Merlin House, peaceful and relaxing with a fantastic view of Brodick Bay. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. We loved watching the hens and the cats always came round to see us. We would definitely go back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
We are really pleased the folks had a good time and would definitely welcome them back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing