We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Merlin House

Merlin House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Merlin House
Decking at Merlin House Comfy and cosy, warm and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Merlin House
Decking at Merlin House
Comfy and cosy, warm and inviting living room
Kitchen with lots of equipment inc. slo cooker, juicer,coffee machine, washer etc
Living/dining room. Dine with family and friends looking out over panoramic views over the Clyde
Master bedroom
Driveway to Merlin House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brodick, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
samantha...
ayrshire scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rustic retreat.”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay at merlin house. Lesley and her family very niece people ,also good and patient with the kids. Accommodation perfect for a base to explore arran also safe and secure for the kids as it sits up on a hill. Chickens roam free so my kids were very entertained by them. Everything you need within accommodation, Lesley supplies cleaning products and coffee ,tea sugar ect. Excellent value for money. Hope to return in the summer .

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review! yes, one of the best things here is the safety of children away from the main road. We are adding new equipment and comfort products all the time. Looking forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great view and complete peace and quiet”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights with our infant son. The house was exactly what we were looking for. It has a great view, is very quiet while still close to the ferry terminal and has everything you need for a self-catered stay in Arran. The owner is very friendly and helpful. A car is highly recommended though as the house is on top of a pretty long and steep hill.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for your very nice review. We're glad you had a good stay and hope you will return. The long steep hill is well worth the drive when you get the view from the house. new equipment and comfort products are being added all the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aanderber...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Leslie and Dennis where fabulous hosts. Having their keen local insight really added to our memorable holiday. They welcomed us to their property and we were made to feel at home. The view is great and the property is well located in between Brodick and Corrie. We had no problems with using bikes to get around. We would highly recommend this property for your holiday as it is so close to the beach just down the drive.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Enjoyed your visit to us here. You will notice positive changes if you return which we hope you will. Thank you for your review and you never know, we may end up in Montana sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian722
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and good value with a killer sea view”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I had a great weekend at Merlin House, which was an excellent base for exploring the island. We slept very well and it was wonderful to wake up each morning and look out eastwards over the sea. Lesley is also very friendly and was helpful and responsive whenever we had a question. All in all, I'm very happy with our choice. Oh, and we enjoyed meeting the amazingly friendly resident cats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Even with the extra heater, the kitchen was a little chilly in the evening
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. If you return you will notice many positive improvements along with much more equipment. We're pleased you liked the cats and am sure if you visit again you will enjoy the chickens which roam free ( and lay eggs everywhere!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dekanda
Offenbach, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Once translated I will reply. Thank you. My school girl German shows this is a favourable review for which we say thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing