We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst hotel ive stayed in..........Ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queensferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queensferry Hotel
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ive stayed in..........Ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

As a tour driver i have stayed in hotels all over the country as well as europe and will normally stay in the same hotel as the guests and i have to say that this is the worst hotel ive ever stayed in! The whole hotel is in need of redecorating, in the hall all the walls are marked and the carpet stained and dirty. The room itself was average although wallpaper was peeling and the shower sprayed more water on the ceiling than myself. And then we get to the food, im not exactly sure when apple juice became a starter but i guess there is a first for everything and having payed £2.50 for one can of Irn Bru i thought i would go for that seeing that the meal was payed for in advance. Then came the main course 3 tough meatballs on top of what was simply rice with peas in it and a little tomato sauce over it followed by the poorest excuse for a dessert i've ever seen! Im actually considering buying my dinner from tescos while in Edinburgh tomorrow so that i dont have to eat the food here as well as bringing in my own soft drinks to avoid paying their stupidly high prices! My advice? Look for another hotel because for what this place charges you could find ALOT better!!

Room Tip: Look for a hotel somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Rob W 1978 I am somewhat amazed and certainly a little confused by your comments posted. They seem your personal thoughts and not of any of your group? I am not aware of any issues raised by any member of a group around the time frame of your stay. Never the less having to stay as you suggest a second night surely you would raise your points with the duty manager to ensure all was well for everyone if not just for yourself on the second night. Clearly your expectations have not been met when with us and I apologise for that, when that is the case a little communication while on site with the duty manager or any staff team member I know for sure often goes along way to resolving small issues quickly. Your choice to sit in your room posting what your intentions for the next day would be can only ever be responded to by me retrospectively and too late to assist in any way at the time of your grievence. Should you be revisiting in the future with any other group say Hi when with us and hopefully our normally quite acceptable delivery on guest expectations will be enjoyed by you and your group. I have as with all comments shared them with the team, especially Chef.
Kind Regards Paul

Regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    208
    116
    65
    54
See reviews for
113
296
24
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Lovely hotel. Ideally situated. Stunning views (dispite the rain).
Staff brilliantly helpful.
Would recommend to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upsydaisy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Anne thank you for your comments please accept my apologies for the shortcomings experienced in service and product availability that detered from your recent stay with us. I would be grateful to hear from you direct at the Hotel in order to conclude matters and restore some faith in us with you.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Hotel is clearly in need of refurbishment and some much neededTLC but would also benefit from a good clean. The corridors, bar and restaurant area's are dirty, bedrooms resemble nothing like advertised on the website and do not even ask about the makeshift window repairs in the bar. The main problem with the Hotel apart from the state of the interior is that they are clearly understaffed. The majority of Staff are all quite young, mostly very courteous and obliging but running around like headless chickens. Long waiting time (almost an hour) the first night to be seated in the restaurant despite having booked a table and the place being only a third full. Had to chase staff for requests, because staff are jumping all over the place, requests get forgotten. Complaints to the very young and clearly inexperienced Duty Manager the first night led to nothing. The saving grace was that the food during our stay was good and was the only reason we stayed our second night after a long and tiring day. Can not say the same about the choice of wine, apparently they do not stock the majority of the red wine listed on their wine list because there is no call for it. Beware the red stickers denoting "out of stock". Four or was it five attempts by different people (including the Chef) at uncorking a bottle resulted in it being corked. We were then presented with the decanted contents in another mysterious looking bottle? We are not wine snobs but do not expect to spend £27 on a bottle of wine (because the £15 Shiraz is red stickered), for it to be corked and then decanted. After complaining we were offered another bottle of wine (not a replacement £27 bottle because the corked bottle was the last), but a Shiraz amazingly, not from the wine list....Whilst the whole wine saga unfolded we had eaten our starters, our main course had been sent back and we were just waiting for Basil Fawlty to put in an appearance before we were finally offered an alternative drink while we waited for the wine.....

The location and resulting views are fantastic. Have some very polite and hardworking young staff but there are not enough people to deliver an acceptable level of service and the interior of the Hotel really needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Queensferry hotels

edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Reception, bar and corridors very tired, rooms on 2nd floor were clean (apart from lamp shades which need a good dusting). Staff pleasant but run off their feet, food average but expensive. Great location for walking around the coast or getting on a train to Edinburgh for sight seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel with clear views of the Forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Charlotte 1 of Edinburgh thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I have literally come from a discussion that helps progress my plans to make significant improvements through redecoration and repair along with service delivery that will address the points you make and a few others. Activity has started and will be increased going forward from here. I Look forward to you enjoying the changes on your next visit, when with us do ask for me and say Hi. Sorry that on this occasion all your expectations were not met in full, I am however working to bring that about for all guests.
Many thanks Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Facts: The carpets have seen better days, ranging from stained to downright filthy.
The voile curtains in our room were stained with "black stuff".
The carpet was quite stained and there was evidence of the same "black stuff.
The windows were dirty inside & out.
The receptionist printed off an evening meal menu around 4.30pm. I advised the girl attending to the bar & restaurant that I did not like onions & asked for an alternative to the dishes on the main course menu as we had paid for an evening meal with our booking - this was promptly agreed with the chef & fish & chips ordered.
We went to the bar for a drink to kill some time before the restaurant opened. The girl had to leave attending to setting up the tables in the restaurant to serve behind the bar. She advised there was no ice & when another guest asked for lemon in her drink she was told there was no lemon. THERE WAS NO APOLOGY NEITHER WAS THERE ANY OFFER TO OBTAIN EITHER ICE OR LEMON.
We arrived in the restaurant 5 mins. after it opened. The waiter took our order but returned almost immediately to advise my husband that there was no steak left & asked him to order something else.
He chose steak pie from a very limited menu which included "Bangers & Mash" priced at over £10!
Our meal was OK - just that, nothing special. Towards the end of the meal we became aware of a cold draught coming from the air conditioning. It was only about 10C outside but the air conditioning made the dining room feel colder than that.
We left & went to our room & turned on the radiator. It heated only at the bottom & we had to call for someone to come & bleed it. It took about a minute to release all the air & allow the radiator to heat.
The shower produced only a feeble luke warm mist when turned on full.
The buffet breakfast both days was luke warm and the plates were cold so that by the time you served yourself & returned to your table the food was quite cold.
We went through 3 door keys in 2 days as they failed to work. We were told the 1st time it was possible because we had kept it next to a mobile phone & mobile phones always wiped the keys rendering them useless. (We wondered why the receptionist failed to mention this when she first gave us the key.) With the second key we made sure it was nowhere near a mobile phone but still it failed resulting in a trail down from the second floor to reception as there were no internal phones connecting to reception in any of the corridors.
I certainly could not recommend this hotel and I most certainly will not be staying there again unless it is completely refurbished.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your review .I acknowledge the content. While it it is never pleasing to hear when anyone's expectations have not been met when with us, be assured all you comment content is being addressed. please accept my appologies on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
3.4 km away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.5 km away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
7.7 km away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.0 km away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,533 - ₹ 9,570
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. North Shore Restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Rail Bridge.Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from Brook Queensferry. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Hilton EMEA so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing