We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Sadly disappointing stay. Receptionist/assistant manager had no customer service skills whatsoever. Had we not stayed here previously we would not have known about the pool/gym as it was not discussed at checking in.
Room allocated had a mattress that should be condemned as I could feel the springs throught the mattress. Advised reception and was moved to another room. Bath panel broken and sink cracked. Very basic room and overpriced and over starred!
Redeemed some credability at breakfast as the helpful breakfast staff prepared a tray for me as I did not feel well.
The pool was cold as the heating system had broken down and the jacuzzi was empty.
Visit this area often as have alot of family here but will not be staying at this hotel again.
Manager has bad attitude problem.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Scarey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronniemd, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Reviw from 5 years ago is now very much out of date. The two sisters in question were advised they would not be welcome again due to problems caused by them. Were almost ejected during the night. No need to say any more and not surprised a bad review was posted.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 569 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2008

My husband and I stayed for one night in February 2007. We arrived at the Hotel to be met by friendly staff. The room was nice and roomy, but could maybe do with slight remodernistation. The bathroom was new and was very clean. The food at the hotel was absolutely fantasic, the service we received in the dining room was second to none and was extremely good value. We made use of the spa facilities during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed the sauna and jacuzzi. Breakfast was fantastic, again delicious food and thoroughly pleasant staff. Will definitely be going back and recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fifer9117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

As Freuchie is very small, this is practically the only hotel there. The rooms were clean and comfortable (bad shower though - no more than a dribble). However I would offer a caveat to business travellers going midweek - the bar music is very loud and when we fell asleep (after trying to get an early night) at 1am it was still going! Not good for an early start, neither was the fact it started up again (alongside the tv) before 7am.

The pool facilities were good, didn't try the food so can't comment there. Overall, if you need a quiet night, a local B&B would be a better option.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank briwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronniemd, Assistant Manager at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

Thank you for your review! Please accept our apologies for your disrupted stay in September 2007. Since receiving your review four years ago, we make sure that all music, in our public areas, is lowered at 10pm and switched off at 11pm and not turned on again until 8am at a lowered volume. If only you had, at the time, alerted us to how disruptive the music was in your room it would have been dealt with immediately. Again, please accept our sincere apologies and maybe, with the promise of a sound sleep, you might stay with us next time you are on business in the area?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

The Lomond Hills hotel is set in the quiet village of Freuchie a few miles from the historic Falkland Palace and within easy driving distance of St Andrews. I have visited this hotel, while on business, many times and the friendliness of the owners, staff and locals is really quite overwhelming. It is, admittedly, an old building with some character. Rooms are certainly not like your bland Holiday Inn/Marriot boxes, but they are clean and comfortable. There is a major refurbishment program underway and each time I visit the decor has improved in some way.

The delight of this hotel is really the village feel of place. If you want a genuine Scottish experience in Fife this is the place to go. The food is usually fairly simple but normally made with fresh produce and is excellent value. it has a growing reputation with many returning to stay for this alone. Very often fresh Fife fish or seafood on the menu. Dressed crab, when available, is outstanding. The wine list is very reasonably priced. ie 2003 Marques De Caceres for £16.00.

The hotel has a small leisure club with indoor pool which, I have to admit, I have not used but it does appear popular. Free Wi Fi access in most parts of the hotel is a bonus for businessmen like me or for people who just can't leave the internet for too long.

Like most hidden gems it doesn't stay hidden for long.The hotel appears to be increasing in popularity, as it seems to get harder to book a room here every time.


  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Neil5kye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

the locals are firendly and keen to chat, which made us welcome, Fife is off, some parts are beautiful, others are dank. The rooms in this hotel are awful, maybe 1970's?
The food was ok, but some was defrosted and microwaved. Freuchie is a pretty village, the hotel has parking, the beer is OK, the music they play is wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Verydissapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronniemd, Assistant Manager at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

Thank you for your review since your stay with us in July 2007. Unfortunately, it sounds like you have resided in a room which hadnt been refurbished by the time of your stay. Since Ronnie bought the hotel in 2004 he has been working very hard to renovate all aspects and areas of the hotel, including the bedrooms which now mostly have new bathroom suites, updated furniture and fresh decor.
I am shocked to find you think we serve "microwaved, defrosted food" in our restaurant!
We pride ourselves on using fresh, local produce to offer a lovely a la carte menu which many rave about. Although, I must admit our heinz baked beans are heated in the microwave to save time!
Hopefully you would stay with us again and enjoy our current menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
4.7 km away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
12.8 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
552 reviews
21.9 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
24.6 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
537 reviews
27.7 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: ₹ 7,474 - ₹ 7,731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing