We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Worked so very well for our international family...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ladywell House from the north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ladywell House from the north
Beautiful - even in winter view from the front door - tranquility
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Ladywell House from the north
Beautiful - even in winter
view from the front door - tranquility
View from East Lomond
Floor plan
Drawing room
Drawing room
Drawing room
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen with AGA
tv room
tv room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Hall
Shand Kydd bedroom
Shand Kydd bathroom
Mezzanine family bathroom
Family bathroom mezzanine
mezzanine landing
Lomond bedroom
Diana's Bedroom
Palace bedroom
Harry bedroom
Family bathroom 2nd floor
Will's bedroom
Large enclosed garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falkland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Masting
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worked so very well for our international family gathering- excellent in every way.”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The owner extended great curtesy regarding my booking while family members worked out the travel logistics. The quality of the rental was high in all areas, effective and most comfortable. We much appreciated the Christmas Tree and decorations in the public rooms. We were eight adults and six children aged from three years to fourteen and a Border terrier. All had a great time and as a family Christmas gathering it could not have been better. Would most certainly go again if the opportunity arises.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely words, and delighted that the trip was a huge success for you all. Do please come again, though Christmas 2018 is already booked! Take care and best wishes for 2018! Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The perfect location for a large family celebration!”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We needed a large country house where 13 family members could stay for a long weekend and which could also cope with lots of extra day guests, including 10 children, for our Golden Wedding celebration. Ladywell House with lots of outdoor space and facilities for children was perfect. Everyone loved the house. A lot of them commented that 'it was so much nicer than being in a hotel'. There were also lots of historical locations nearby for our further away guests to explore. Our host Duncan was always quick to respond whenever we needed help. A wonderful stay all round.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review, and for your praise. We loved being able to offer the perfect venue for your special day, and do hope that you will come again in 10 years! Take care. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksfraseru...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gracious, spacious home for our family get together.”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ladywell House provided a wonderful setting for our family gathering of 15 people, aged between 100yrs and 2weeks! The huge kitchen was the hub for our family with the conservatory table an ideal base for all the craft/colouring-in by the grandchildren.
Baking a birthday cake in the Aga was a challenge! It didn't quite turn out as I'd hoped!!
However this lovely spacious house was an ideal setting for our family to celebrate Grandpa's 70th birthday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thanks so much Keith for the kind words, and sorry that the AGA was not the best cooker for a cake...I do provide AGA cookbooks, and once you get the hang of it, the AGA is the best cooker for cakes in the world!
My Ex-wife made the best Victoria Sponge ever in the AGA................'As cooks go, she was a good cook, and as cooks go, she went' ...Saki.

It was a delight to have all of the family here, and we do hope that you can come to stay again.
Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekgrah...
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great week in a beautiful house”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house is located only a few minutes walk from the village which is ideal.
It is very well appointed & the large sitting room is very relaxing & although it had a beautiful big open fire, we had no cause to light it as we were blessed with great weather the whole week !!
The property has a very large walled, sloping garden & a sizeable BBQ should you wish to use it, along with a nice area for sitting outside.
The beds are extremely comfortable, wonderful baths, although difficult to use for the elderly in our company, particularly the family bathroom, where the shower is hand held over the bath.
While the bedrooms are well appointed they could do with wardrobes in some of them as there really is no hanging space, other than some coat hangers on the back of the door.
Duncan is a very pleasant host & lives next door to the property.
Would recommend this house to anyone.
We all had a wonderful time with some great memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Many many thanks for the glorious review, and delighted that the house was perfect for you. Re the baths, yes...there are 3 baths in the house 9all with hand-held shower heads) and 3 showers so a mix to suit most. I take on board what you say about wardrobes, there are 2 rooms without wardrobes and hanging for half a dozen suits/dresses and shirts. When I find something that will 'fit in' I will buy them. Do come to stay again, and many thanks for the pointers. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Owner!”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Whilst the house is very nice, it is expensive for what you get especially considering the below. Our stay was spoiled by the owner who (i) presented unreasonable terms of letting including very early check out time and extensive cleaning requirements the day prior to arrival, (ii) entered the property to check up on it several times during the stay, (iii) only returned the deposit upon request, and (iv) deducted a portion of the deposit for cleaning despite us complying with the already over the top cleaning requirements. As such, I would sadly not recommend anyone stay at this property.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Dear Patrick

Many thanks for the lovely words about the property. As is common for most self-catering properties, we provide Terms of Letting. This we have done for nearly 30 years. The Terms of Letting were sent to you 12 days prior to your arrival, on 4 June, by email. They listed cleaning requirements, and offered house-keeping during your stay. You stated that you didn't wish to have a house-keeper to assist, and we appreciate that some of our guests prefer to clean for themselves. Others do ask us to provide a house-keeper to assist. Departure times are 10.30 am (stated on our site), and this allows us to prepare the property to a very high standard, often remarked on by our grateful guests. This departure time was confirmed on 8 June (8 days prior to your arrival) by email, after you asked if you could depart later.

As your party were attending a wedding locally, and the wedding was on Saturday night, and departure on Sunday morning, some of your party were obviously not 'up to' stripping their own beds, tidying their mess, or putting a hoover around. You stated that some of your party were hung-over, and perhaps this didn't help!!

We made a small deduction from the good-housekeeping deposit (as laid out in our Terms of Letting) to pay for the extra cleaning required, and if all of your party had done 20 minutes of tidying then there would have been no charge.

My advice to you would have been to read the Terms of Letting, make your party aware of them.I suggest that you ask them for a financial contribution to cover the extra cleaning charged as a result of their incapacity to help.

I am so sorry that this marred your overall enjoyment of our wonderful, comfortable, well-equipped and beautiful house.

Kind regards

Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing