We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage for exploring the East Neuk”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keeny51
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage for exploring the East Neuk”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was lovely and clean, kitchen well stocked. Perfect for exploring Fife. Only down side would be if weather was nice there is no outside seating space, although the Golf hotel across the road has a beer garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No outside seating space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Hi many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Stoney Creek, I am glad you had a great stay and enjoyed exploring the east Neuk of Fife. Please let me know if we can help you plan your next stay.

Kind Regards
TS Holiday Lets
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A complete disaster”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived .No key in box .Rang number . Promised a key .Waited over an hour standing in garden of property . Booked into local hotel on a better deal . More texts of complaints by us . Finally money refunded in full promptly with an apology but NOTHING offered in compensation for upset , waste of time , phone calls , disappointment ,stress and cost of wasted fresh food brought with us .
We would not book with this company again or recommend it .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
We're truly devastated by this review. As I hope you can see, we normally get great feedback from guests. On this particularly occasion everything was organised as normal however one of the cleaners left the premises with the guest key, forgetting to put it back in the key safe. This was only brought to our attention when the guests arrived and the key was not there as expected. The cleaner was contacted and had the key back at the property within a couple of hours, so the guests could have been in that evening, however they understandably were very frustrated and had already left and checked into the hotel. We actioned a refund for the full amount straight back on to their card.

We have never had this issue before and have put further checks in place since so hopefully won't have to face it again either. The guests weren't due any further compensation as they could have stayed in the property from the date booked but chose not to and therefore a full refund was considered to be a fair resolve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEL72
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic base for our short break, cosy, clean and just as described!”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great wee cosy cottage with lovely large, airy bedroom in the upstairs space. The cottage was clean and comfortable and the wee extra touches- milk in the fridge and the basket of coffees/teas and teacakes much appreciated. The downstairs toilet in addition to the upstairs bathroom was great to have as we were using the sofa bed also. We also appreciated the location, great for doglovers and a stonethrow from the dog friendly golf hotel bar, beer garden and the lovely sheltered, dog friendly garden of the honeypot tearoom. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a great review of Stoney Creek Cottage. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the little extras that make it a little more like home from home. Fife is a fantastic area where there is such a lot to see and do. Please don't hesitate to contact us at ts properties if you need help to book your next trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy W
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Stoney Creek Cottage in July 2015 for three nights. The cottage is in a great location and is a good size for 2 people. We were disappointed with the level of cleanliness in the cottage. It did appear that the cottage had not been cleaned for us, there were stains on sofas and rugs, dust and hair in the bathroom and the shower curtain and shower head were mouldy, so it was not the most welcoming! I advised the owner and they apologised so hopefully it was a one off but the experience has meant I wouldn't stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cottage was dirty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We appreciate your candid review of your recent stay. We have raised the issues outlined with the cleaners and will be monitoring it going forwards. Normally the feedback for the cleaners is very good so it is disappointing that you didn't find things right during your recent stay. We do ask all guests to let us know straight away (while at the property) if anything isn't right as it then gives us a chance to resolve problems and ensure your holiday isn't spoiled. It's just a shame we didn't hear from you until afterwards as we were then unable to arrange for it to be fixed (albeit it should have been right from the start). Once again, thank you for your feedback, it truly is invaluable. We hope we will get the chance to prove this is not the normal standard of any of our properties sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly1201...
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quaint Cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Crail is a small quaint seaside village; Stoney Creek is in the heart of the village and a few minutes walk to the seaside. Close drive to St Andrew, Elie, Crail and other golf courses in the area. There is a grocery literally within a two minute walk. There is plenty of parking and it is across the street about a block away. I would recommend this rental if you want peace and quiet in a small village with a slow pace in a pleasant setting

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: In heart of village and Co-op (grocery) right around the corner
Liked least: No Wi-Fi and difficult to find Wi-Fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing