We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A family haven.”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm welcome at Sandcastle Cottage for short breaks or weekly rentals
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome at Sandcastle Cottage for short breaks or weekly rentals
With little seaside touches,  living room is furnished with leather settees and oak tables.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
A warm welcome at Sandcastle Cottage for short breaks or weekly rentals
With little seaside touches,  living room is furnished with leather settees and oak tables.
With little seaside touches,  living room is furnished with leather settees and oak tables.
With little seaside touches,  living room is furnished with leather settees and oak tables.
A bright and airy kitchen /dining room in Sandcastle Cottage with views towards the back garden
Dining kitchen of Sandcastle Cottage, Crail - open plan with windows to front and rear of property
Looking towards the back of the cottage from the garden of Sandcastle Cottage, Crail
Back garden to the rear of the cottage with patio, lawns, garden furniture
Little seaside mugs to remind you of seaside songs!
Downstairs bathroom in Sandcastle Cottage
Big bath and over-bath shower in the downstairs bathroom of Sandcastle Cottage, Crail
Views towards Roome Bay and the sea from the Master Bedroom at Sandcastle Cottag
The ensuite shower room in the Master Bedroom of Sandcastle Cottage
Back garden of Sandcastle Cottage, Crail
Sandcastle Cottage, Crail view from Nethergate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maryclio
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A family haven.”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our 2nd stay. Ideal for young grandchildren with the park, harbour, beach and rock pools. House is clean, spacious and is a home from home with everything you need. Can recommend the fish and chip shop for fresh and delicious take away. Also the pottery. All within walking distance of this lovely cottage. Couldn't believe how quiet it is here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you need has been provided
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for giving our future guests some ideas of things to do when in residence. Hope it wasn't too chilly to get out and about on your February half-term break! You're welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neatlywhe...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A most memorable holiday......”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From the very moment we walked through the door of Sandcastle Cottage, everything was quite simply, perfect.
Helped by wonderul weather, the facilities, Crail itself, and all our other destinations, made our first trip really, really terrific.
Cannot be more effusive about the cottage; location, the cleanliness, layout, comfort-factor, kitchen equipment......all really 100%!
Only wish we could have stayed longer; it was a real wrench to leave and really felt we were abandoning our home. Anyway, I, pretty certain this wasn't our last visit. A big thank you from us!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to Crail soon. Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minniemem...
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a fantastic 4 days at Sandcastle Cottage, great wee cottage in a fantastic location.. Could not fault it atall, would definately return.. Good communication from owners.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Delighted to know that you enjoyed your short break at Sandcastle Cottage so much. We love it there too! You're welcome back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N
Goleta, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It is a wonderful cottage - spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed, amazing situation right on the Fife Coastal Path and within two minutes of the village center, and really well managed. Nothing was too much bother for Susan the manager, even when we called her on Sunday morning. Cannot recommend it strongly enough.
Tips for other travellers May Isle ferry, chip shop in Crail (Anstruther's is great too but Crail is just as good), Scotland's Secret Bunker, Lobster from the hut on the pier (fantastic!), St. Andrews, and of course the Fife Coastal Path.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thanks so much for your glowing review. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing