We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Must do!

We spent three hours here! An amazing museum, much larger than you’d expect! Lots of history... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
misspickle
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
via mobile
Not just for rainy days!

This was on our wet-weather programme for a short visit to Anstruther. However we would... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Chrissie G
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 352 reviews
  
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
243
91
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
91
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing industry well worth a visit herring tea room scottish fisheries hard life fisherman's cottage local fishing fascinating place fishing boats nice cafe great insight full size all ages fisheries museum fishing history spent longer
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We visited here on a cold wet and windy day and were so pleased we did.

Very interesting and informative. The cafe is really good too!

1  Thank KorkyManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words and 5-star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

When we first looked at this place thought it was a very small attraction how wrong was I, the place is quite large and very interesting, loads of different displays and warehouses full of different boats, engines and just about everything to do with the fishing industry. Will more than likely to be back as my partner enjoyed it that much she wants to go back.

1  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Yes, we can be deceptive for how much there is to see! Thanks for the 5 stars and we hope you will be back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Closed earlier than indicated on Google, so we arrived less than an hour before it closed. Staff very snippy and unapologetic. Suggested we come back the next day; less than helpful when we had driven two hours with young children to get there. I don't think I'll be back.

2  Thank Guinnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Apologies for your bad experience. I am not quite sure which date you traveled to see us and would be grateful if you could let me know. We did shut early on 28th Feb as a the bad weather set in but otherwise our closing times are clearly stated on our website and signage with last admission times one hour before as you do need over an hour to get full value for your visit. I am sorry you were disappointed but please consider a visit in the future when we promise a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This museum is so very interesting so much so we want to return to enjoy more of the enjoyment and wonder.

1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much for your positive 5-star review. We certainly hope you will come back to see us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

This is a great way to learn about all aspects of the fishing industry in Scotland. It is very well laid out and easy to navigate around. Whether you know a lot, a little or nothing about fishing there is something for everyone no matter your age or interest level.

1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much for your 5-star review. We were so pleased to hear what an enjoyable experience it was and hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews