We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and worth a visit”

The Scottish Fisheries Museum
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: (April - September) Mon - Sat: 10.00 - 5.30, Sun: 11 - 5; (November - March) Mon - Sat: 10.00 - 4.30, Sun: 12 - 4.30; last admissions 1 hour before closing. Adults £8, Concessions £6, Accompanied Children free. Independent charity-run museum covering the history of the Scottish fishing industry and its people from the earliest times to the present. A range of modern and traditional displays, dioramas and interactives provide something for everyone.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited during the Easter break. I was quite impressed with the exhibits and surprisingly large size of the museum. Kids and adults all enjoyed it and I thought the large boat in the final hall was great. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Thank monkey210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fishing industry"
in 46 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 38 reviews
"herring"
in 16 reviews
"fishing boats"
in 12 reviews
"scottish fisheries"
in 11 reviews
"hard life"
in 6 reviews
"fisherman's cottage"
in 5 reviews
"full size"
in 5 reviews
"tea room"
in 5 reviews
"two hours"
in 11 reviews
"all ages"
in 11 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 4 reviews
"fishing history"
in 4 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 4 reviews
"great insight"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"homemade soup"
in 5 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here on a cold wet and windy day and were so pleased we did.

Very interesting and informative. The cafe is really good too!

Thank KorkyManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words and 5-star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

When we first looked at this place thought it was a very small attraction how wrong was I, the place is quite large and very interesting, loads of different displays and warehouses full of different boats, engines and just about everything to do with the fishing industry. Will more than likely to be back as my partner enjoyed it that much she wants to go back.

Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Closed earlier than indicated on Google, so we arrived less than an hour before it closed. Staff very snippy and unapologetic. Suggested we come back the next day; less than helpful when we had driven two hours with young children to get there. I don't think I'll be back.

Thank Guinnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Apologies for your bad experience. I am not quite sure which date you traveled to see us and would be grateful if you could let me know. We did shut early on 28th Feb as a the bad weather set in but otherwise our closing times are clearly stated on our website and signage with last admission times one hour before as you do need over an hour to get full value for your visit. I am sorry you were disappointed but please consider a visit in the future when we promise a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This museum is so very interesting so much so we want to return to enjoy more of the enjoyment and wonder.

Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivelyHope, Manager at The Scottish Fisheries Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much for your positive 5-star review. We certainly hope you will come back to see us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish Fisheries Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Scottish Fisheries Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing