We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
45
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
9
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fife coastal path located hotel edinburgh waverley enjoyed our stay fresh fruit firth
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2015

We stayed for 9 nights while visiting schools in the Kingdom of Fife. I found it by checking tripadvisor.com for quaint B&B's in the Edinburgh area. What a find it was! Pauleen is the perfect hostess and proprietor! She was so accommodating of us while we were waiting to hear if our trip to Scotland would come together. Once it did, she was right there with quick responses to our questions and correspondence. Through our many emails over 6+ months prior to our trip, we already knew she would be a perfect fit for us. But from the second we arrived we knew we were right. She personalized our stay by helping us with travel arrangements, giving fabulous advice about day trips, taxi & train schedules, and just taking such good care of us all around. Whenever we would return to the hotel at the end of a long and busy day, her greeting was one of genuine care for us and we truly felt like we were coming home! The views are astonishing. The cliffs next to the property provide a gorgeous view of the countryside, including the golf course, the River Forth, the North Sea, and Edinburgh Castle. We could NOT have found a better fit for us. Do not hesitate to book this hotel! The breakfasts were scrumptious and having the "Room With A View" seafood restaurant right on the property was a bonus. The food was amazing! Hannah and her staff were also so sweet and accommodating. We were spoiled!! I'm sure you can tell that we would go back there in a heartbeat. And we will!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Could not have been better. To begin, we were met with the quintessential Scottish accommodations overlooking the Firth of Forth. The views were amazing! The grounds were neatly manicured with cliffs to the east that caught the golden hour sunlight, then a gentle breeze. A deep sigh and then we entered. Many places visited say that they are "true Scottish hospitality." The Forth View Hotel stands above them all. We were never hurried, rushed, or pestered but there was ALWAYS attention if needed. Smiling, soft-spoken, treated us as part of the extended family. Magical really that a hotel can really feel like home. The restaurant, should have started there, was fantastic! Thanks for the memories, we will return if able!

Room tip: Get a Firth of Forth View - very spectacular!
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We stayed three nights while attending the Open at St. Andrews. We were greeted by Pauleen, the innkeeper and owner. Very kind welcome and showed us to our room. Accommodations are comfortable and clean. Had dinner right at the hotel and truly it is one of the best meals we have ever had and we travel often. Pauleen's daughter , Hannah, prepared the dinner. Fresh hot rolls out of the oven, an amusee bouche compliments of the chef, and a fruit palette cleanser before the main course. Seafood is fresh and elegantly prepared. The restaurant is a separate business run by Hannah. Highly recommend. View of the water from all tables, small dining room type setting, very cozy. Staff was knowledgable and very attentive. My partner is a vegetarian and they prepared a unique dish for him, was very good. Desserts and coffee delicious. Breakfast is granola, fruit, pastries, cereals, juice and fresh fruit. Then you also order main course from menu. I had poached egg, bacon, sausage, beans, and sautéed mushrooms. All made right away and served piping hot! Delicious, again with gorgeous view of bay. Coffee is served in a French press and my partner had yea. They even packed our breakfast to go the day we left early for our flight. Sandwiches, granola bar that seemed to be homemade and delicious, banana and apple juice. Such a nice touch and very much appreciated as we ate it in the car and at airport. Even if you don't stay here, go for dinner. This old historic hotel is down at the bottom of a drive. We enjoyed the adventure of getting down there. Delightful walk along a path to town, pubs, and the train. Thank you Pauleen and Hannah and staff!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Golfskirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Unfortunately we only stayed one night. But it was more than enough to appreciate this charming small family run hotel, right on the beach. The rooms need some upgrading, but they are clean, covering all basic needs, and they have a breathtaking sea view which easily helps you forget any mishaps. The staff is friendly and helpful. As for the restaurant, I have no words, the food was just amazing, by far the best seafood we had in Scotland and the service perfect. Breakfast was also excellent.
A hidden gem that waits for you to discover it!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mLouisa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Stayed at Pauleen's quaint place for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the property and the company. Pauleen is a gracious and helpful hostess. Looking forward to our next visit to Aberdour, and will definitely be staying at Forth View Hotel again!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamaslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews