We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brillant Accommodation!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Dairy

The Old Dairy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Dairy
Twin bedroom is wheelchair accessible on the ground floor Double height open plan kitchen/dining/living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Dairy
Twin bedroom is wheelchair accessible on the ground floor
Double height open plan kitchen/dining/living space
Kitchen and dining area
Double height living room
Well equipped kitchen
Wood burning stove for cosy winter nights
The Old Dairy is part of a working small-holding
Comfortable living space
Double bedroom has ensuite WC/washroom
Plan your adventure around Loch Lomond!
Stunning local scenery
Ben Lomond to the north, Scotland's most southern Munro
The Old Dairy
Solar PV and thermal panels provide power and hot water
Spectacular sunset over the Cobbler
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate5465
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brillant Accommodation!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic accommodation of the highest standard managed by superb hosts in Deborah and Steve. The cottage is beautifully designed, very comfortable and the additional touches of freshly laid eggs, homemade bread and jam were especially kind. The environmentally responsible initiatives taken from not only the design of the cottage but in the supplies provided to guests are excellent. Beautiful landscape and great location. Would highly recommend this holiday rental.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely and enthusiastic review, your comments mean a lot to us as they capture exactly what we wish to offer our guests.
Best regards, Deborah & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacJac L
HK
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful gem and LOVE it!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Seek nowhere, this is the cottage ot be!

Deborah has been very helpful and responsive right from the moment I sent my request for availability.

The Cottage is tucked away in a peaceful and tranquil working farm, and Deborah's instructions of getting there are right on spot.
The cottage is spotlessly clean, very well maintained and modern. The kitchen is well equipped. I especially love that Deborah is devoted to maintaining the environmentally-friendly side of the cottage, and we stuck dilligently to her suggestions to recycle.

U are warmly welcomed with a loaf of freshly baked bread and half a dozen of free range eggs ..... the eggs are YUMMY! You can see the chicken running around happily and they are enjoying happy farm life here too. We didn't have time to visit the butcher recommended by Deborah but I know it will be fresh, so plan your visit and make sure you get something nice for dinner.

I am very blessed with my jetlag this time ....... (yes, ridiculous!)
Cause I was up early during my stay to spot the amazing sunrise from the living room ....
it was heartbreakingly beautiful.

We love every minute of our stay and the only downside is .......
We should have booked ourselves for a longer stay!~~

Deborah, thank you and we will be back!!! ^.^

PS ..... we did try to hike up Ben Lomond and beware that it is not a coca cola route even though we chose the so-called "tourist" route, it is strenuous and weather can change very quickly up there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing the cottage. I'm glad your long journey and jet lag was eased by the comfort of the cottage and its surroundings. We very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the UK.
best regards
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrantSP
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second to none”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and 10 & 15 year old son and daughter stayed here for a week. We stayed in the Old Dairy which was cleverly designed accommodation and contained every mod-con you could wish for, even fresh eggs, homemade bread and marmalade! You can even say hello to the chickens that layer your eggs!The living area has a log burner that was easy to use. Inside was high standard of finishes, so much so you would never believe that it was converted from a stone dairy building. The high sustainability standards provide an extremely pleasant internal environment providing high quality accommodation above any other self contained holiday home we have stayed in. There is even a covered area with trampoline and BBQ's.
Deborah and Steve are very accommodating and can offer great local knowledge and advise of thing further afield. The local area is stunning, make sure you take a walk up the 'dumpling' to get some fantastic views of Loch Lomond. Further afield Sterling Castle is great, Bracklin Falla at Callender is well worth a visit and the village of Luss is very quaint. Also recommend a cruise trip in Loch Lomond and a walk up Ben Lomond if your feeling energetic. Glasgow is also only 20 minute train journey from the local train station.

Local amenities, butchers, farm shops or supermarkets are all nearby and there is lots of choice for eating out, all of which are good quality with locally sourced produce. It's all good!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank your for your review, we're glad the cottage provided high standards for you and suited your family so well for your holiday. There's plenty to see and do in the area as you mentioned and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The clear air, the clear recycling instructions
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Pleased you enjoyed your time in The Old Dairy and that you had such a comfortable stay in the cottage. We're glad your family had a great holiday here and enjoyed exploring the area.
Best wishes
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home feeling
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you very much for such a lovely review and we are so glad your whole family enjoyed The Old Dairy. It's great too that the children enjoyed their 'low food miles' eggs from the hens. Thank you for coming to stay.
Very best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing