We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent spot on the North Coast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent spot on the North Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Had a weekend break just after Christmas and really could not fault this hotel. The character of the hotel and the furnishings are tasteful and the staff are very friendly. We stayed in a room at the front overlooking the sea and it was great and very relaxing. We ate in the restaurant and found the selection and quality of the food superb. Breakfast is lovely. They seem to be working outside the hotel but we still managed a walk around the lovely gardens. Nice place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    286
    132
    69
    48
See reviews for
295
576
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at Ballygally Castle hotel for a few nights as a base whilst visiting family in Northern Ireland. Rooms were comfortable and clean, staff were friendly and the location by the beach was lovely and made travelling up the Antrim coast very easy. The hotel seems to often have offers on including dinner and reduced room rates so would suggest looking at those prior to booking as the package we had was good value. We ate in the restaurant on both nights, food was good, would recommend the seafood chowder!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank len1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was a last minute surprise from my husband which he booked the day before our arrival. On arrival the hotel was welcoming and the reception staff were friendly and helpful, we were alocated the Glenarm room which was situated in the old historic castle tower of the hotel which included the narrow spiral staircase which was used as a short cut by other residents to make their way back to the new part of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable but due to the location of the room it also came with the creakey floor boards and beware if you are a light sleeper (as I am) there is a function room directly below the room. The meal in the restaurant was excellent and we can highly recommend the seafood chowder and the sirlon steak. The hotel was in a beautiful location, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LECummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Needing to relax and unwind the Ballygally Castle hotel was just what we needed. Comfortable clean rooms, sumptuous towels, good food in a spacious restaurant with attentive staff, excellant location with quirky gardens and a stream. We took the bus up the coast to Cairnlough and had a pint in a pub which Ballygally doesn't have, in fact, there is only a Spar and residential properties in Ballygally. We stayed three nights and only one of them was disturbed by noisy residents staying over from a wedding held that day, batteries well and truly recharged.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

stayed for the weekend ... room was ready early when we unlocked the door it was omg look at the size of the bed so cool... then looked out the window room with a sea view loved it...the castle is spooky and very cold but lovely to see the ghost room and climb the castle steps..the river restaurant meal was fab havent had such a good meal in a long time with great table service...best hotel i have ever stayed in....

Room Tip: ask for front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ju;iesweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,405 - ₹ 17,872
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing