We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear terrace with outside seating
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear terrace with outside seating
Open plan, can't fit all the sofas and TV on the picture! Come and visit to see more!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rear terrace with outside seating
Open plan, can't fit all the sofas and TV on the picture! Come and visit to see more!
Seating for adults and extra 2 seat dining set for toddlers! High chair too
Hallway with automatic lighting
Bedding included
Bathroom with digital bath filler and shower over
En suite off main bedroom
Guest entrance with logs for fire and undercover space for dirty boots
Eggs from our chicken and chicks
Local Lulworth Cove
local Monkey World
Walk to local pub
Sunrise Spring 2014
Sunset February 2015
Winter at Greenhills
Local resident on the Heath opposite
Durdle Door nearby
Heath opposite the house
Local stream
Greenhills gardens
Rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne N
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Greenhills. It was as advertised, a lovely property with all essentials and more than you would normally expect to find. There were five of us including two children who quickly made friends with Skippy who would always visit us every day. Our boys also made friends with Julie's two children and loved playing in the tree house. The property was ideally placed for exploring and we went to Monkey World, Swanage Steam Railway, Lulworth Cove etc. We did regret that we didn't do an internet shop beforehand though as Tesco's was quite a hike and Sainsburys in Wareham difficult to find with very limited parking!

However, apart from that, we had a brilliant stay and would come back again. Julie and her hubby were very friendly and welcoming.

There was just one point and someone else has already raised this that it would be really good to have some blinds in the kitchen. There is an awful lot of glass and it was unbearably hot at times with sun shining directly onto the kitchen table when we were eating.

Catherine, Jamie, Anne, Jack & Daniel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location with friendly hosts
Liked least: Lack of blinds in the kitchen/living room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thanks for your comments. As you and another guest have mentioned the heat, we will be looking into fitting a blind for the kitchen window. You and some of our other guests came during a particularly hot Summer!
It is reassuring to know that you found the place to be well equipped as we have endeavoured to make staying at Greenhils as easy as possible for people choosing to self-cater.
It was lovely to meet you all, and thanks for coming to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJK1964
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very well decorated house and spotlessly clean but some disappointments”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Greenhills is in a lovely, quiet location (apart from the barking of the dog when the owners were out) and has been made into holiday accommodation of a very high standard. It is spotlessly clean. However, we had several disappointments:

It is advertised as bed and breakfast/self catering accommodation. Having booked for one week, for our family of six, we assumed this meant breakfast for each day. We felt rather let down when it turned out to mean two packs of sausages and bacon, 7 eggs, one loaf of bread, one tank of milk and a few basic cereals and jam and marmalade and one jug of juice. Many of the items listed on the website were nowhere to be seen and it was basically bed for seven nights, breakfast for two nights.

The accomodation is advertised for six, but there were only 5 dining chairs in the property, and whilst there was a dishwasher, it had to be put on after each meal as there was so little crockery and plates.

The large lounge folding patio doors have no blinds or curtains meaning total lack of privacy with shared garden and it was SO hot when we returned each afternoon. The doors were also damaged so it was v hard to open and close them. The owner was aware of this but they were still not repaired while we were there.

So the house was spotlessly clean and well decorated but we felt let down, compared to the advert and website.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern and clean aspect of the house
Liked least: The feeling that we were not getting what was advertised,and paid for.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I take on board your comments about the breakfast. I had reduced the amount put out as there has previously been a lot of wasted food.However I would have been more than happy to provide additional supplies. It is disapointing that you did not feel able to speak to me about this during your stay. Likewise the lack of the 6th chair was an oversight on my part, as I had borrowed it to read a meter and had forgooten to put it back. It would have been no trouble to get it for you and I apologise for this oversight.
I do feel the amount of crockery is sufficent (e.g. we supply 18 dinner plates, 17 side plates etc)and other guests have commented on how well equipped the property is. There is, as you mention, a dishwasher for guests use.
We will look into fitting a blind for the kitchen window and will in future provide an umbrella for the outside dining tables. You were fortunate to come during a particularly hot Summer in England! We have had the door fixed, and explained to you the problem when you arrived and the need to wait for a spcialist engineer.
We do ensure that none of our family or any other visitors go round the back of the annexe whilst guests are staying, to give guests their privacy. We feel it would be a shame to have blinds covering the massive bi-folding doors with such great views. If we do need to speak to guests, we always come and knock at the side door as we did during your stay.
Although we were away ourselves in Cornwall with the dog most of the week you were there, there was one night where she was left alone overnight which she had not experienced previously. I apologise if this disturbed you.
I hope you and your family enjoy the rest of your Summer and would like to thank you again for choosing to stay at Greenhills.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful property in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Really cannot recommend this place enough! Modern, comfortable and stocked with more amenities than we could have possibly asked for!

The area is quiet, but within walking distance of a couple of lovely pubs, and a must for any nature lovers or amateur astronomers.

Julie was welcoming, friendly and so obliging from initial booking straight through to us (unwillingly) leaving at the end of our stay. Could have easily stayed there for weeks!

Will definitely rebook and looking forward to our return trip already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Thanks for the comments and we would welcome you back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRate...
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday in an amazing location!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have returned from a perfect 4 night stay in this amazing holiday cottage.... I'm almost reluctant to say how amazing it was for fear of this perfect place being visited by everyone!!!

From the minute we arrived to birthday cake and balloons for our 3yr old daughters birthday we fell in love with this place!

The owners were so helpful but unobtrusive.

We enjoyed lovely days at the beach at Weymouth and nearby Monkey World which we both within 15 minute drive of the cottage. We enjoyed dinner at the nearby pub - The Countryman Inn, which was a very short walk and perfect for families!

We all felt completely relaxed and cannot wait to book another holiday there next year! Thanks so much Julie for making us feel so welcome.

Liz, Nick and kiddies!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you all. Without wishing to sound sycophantic, if this was the perfect place, then you were the perfect guests! You are more than welcome any time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped holiday house in a beautiful rural setting”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Greenhills. The location of the property is great for getting to most places and attractions in the local area and the property itself is well equipped with all the mod cons as well as an amazing view out onto fields from the lounge. Our children loved playing with all of the toys that had so kindly been provided and really enjoyed exploring the garden and interacting with the chickens, rabbits and the owner's very friendly dog. Julie was very welcoming and was really helpful in all her correspondence to us. She even took a shopping delivery for us prior to our arrival. The serve yourself breakfast is a brilliant idea and made the holiday so relaxed. Thanks for a wonderful time, we'd love to visit again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. really pleased you had a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing