We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Priory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Frome Corner(Wareham)
US$ 126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
US$ 226
US$ 218
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
315
76
29
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
76
29
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverafternoon teacellar restaurantdrawing roomboat housewine listspecial occasiondb bpetit fourswonderful lunchcopper bathkingfisher suitebeautiful riversidesunday lunchsconesthree coursespre dinner drinks
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Excellant venue for a family meal. Champagne in the garden and then a our own room for 14.
Service was superb. Food very good, imaginative and well presented with decent portions. A bit more gravy with the roast beef and yorkshire is the only tiny moan I have. I should have asked but was too busy chatting!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peage97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Started with drinks in the lounge before a beautifully presented lunch. Delicious food and attentive staff. The best cheeseboard ever.
Finished with coffee back in the lounge. A great lunch with special friends

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classic1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We took my mother for lunch during the "March heatwave". It was suggested we sit outside on the terrace. Although a little uncertain about the idea we agreed, and were not disappointed. The surroundings, sitting looking across the manicured lawn to the river beyond were wonderful.

The service was good, and the food just right.

We had a wander around the gardens after lunch which was delightful. Overall this was an excellent experience, and we would recommend it thoroughly. The next time the weather is nice we'll be back (especially if my mother is paying!

We were glad that lunch was served "upstairs". Though the basement restaurant is very nice it is a shame in the summer not to take advantage of the views provided outside. Could dinner not also be served here?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank B16SDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A Sunday lunch to remember. Excellent food, impecable service from all of the staff, beautiful surroundings and a gloriously sunny day. As a returant owners nightmare I am not an easy man to please however credit where it is due -One of the best meals I have ever enjoyed. Faultless.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazerkbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Loathe as I am to criticise a family-run hotel, The Priory needs to take good note of its customer service and uphold its promise to accommodate requests for adaptations to its menu. As other reviewers have noted, the menu changes little from night to night. A not-inexpensive suite was booked for two nights on the strength of the reception's guarantee that the chef would be happy to make any adaptations required (given due notice, of course). But in the event - and despite making the request hours in advance - the chef ignored the agreed order. It came down to this: instead of two orders of a simplified pasta dish, the kitchen reported back that the chef had only ONE order of past available. There was no other pasta to be had, not even as a kitchen store cupboard staple, let alone freshly made. The chef refused to countenance making the second order as previously requested. So, as a guest paying nigh on a thousand pounds for a two-night stay, I am told that the chef cannot or will not rustle up a simple dish of pasta. This is quite possibly why this hotel restaurant will never reach Michelin status, despite its aspirations.

The hotel is very much geared towards a returning clientele of 60+. I can see no way in which it appeals to first-time or a younger market. As Alex Polizzi might say, 'Darlings, you need to up your game'. So, caveat emptor: if you are 60+ and don't mind whatever's on the menu, The Priory won't let you down. If, however, you want to make a slight change to your dining experience, don't rely on the hotel's claims (printed on their brochure and in their in-room info) that the chef will be happy to accommodate your requests. He won't. Oh, and pass on the croissants at breakfast - they're re-heated from frozen and are inedible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HopperBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinola, PA/Secretary to the Managing Partner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

AN UNBALANCED REVIEW in which the lady customers have failed to mention how they gladly accepted our Duty Manager's most generous 'goodwill' gesture of taking £122.45 off their bill (all extras including drinks, wine and afternoon tea) on checkout (which was the first and only time they mentioned any dissatisfaction!). The Duty Manager quite simply took them at their word, without having the opportunity to look into the matter, to alleviate their grievance on departure as a matter of courtesy.

However, it would appear that the incident was more a misunderstanding that occured the previous evening when a special request for a Mediterranean pasta dish was order for one person, when infact it was meant to be for two. When the misunderstanding was realized, one of the ladies seemed happy to have Dover Sole, and the 'supplement charge' was, unequivocally, waived. The Duty Manager, unaware that the matter had already been satisfactorily resolved at the time, applied the £122.45 reduction in accordance with the ladies' story.

We are disheartened by this review on a number of levels. In particular we cannot understand why the ladies have failed to mention how our 'nothing-is-too-much-trouble' approach meant that all their other, many and varied, dietary requests, were met without question or incident (we even made specific canapes and petits fours for the ladies, just as we do for all our guests on special diets). We pride ourselves on 'going-the-extra-distance'. We do not purport to be an aspiring Michelin starred 'Hotel Restaurant', but we'll take this comment as a compliment. And, Alex Poliizzi is most welcome here at anytime ... she might even say, "Darlings, you don't need to change a thing!"

Postcript: When our guests choose to have 'hot' croissants, we warm them through to order, like most other establishments who don't have their own bakery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews