We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set in lovely location”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Set in lovely location”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have written several reviews on hotels but find it slightly difficult to write this one.

We only booked the hotel the day before our arrival so we were given an excellant rate for our stay, on arrival we were met by very friendly staff and were given the choice of two rooms one on the first floor and a lovely room on the second floor which we took,it did mean going up and down about 30 stairs ( no lift ) but well worth the effort for the view down across the lawns to the river.

Dinner each evening was first class with a good choice on all courses and the attentive staff could not have done more to help and as said in another review what a marvellous cheese board. Each morning we had a coffee tray brought to our room shame that they did not put a couple of those lovely home made biscuits on it. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice from the menu.

The large lawns and gardens set around the hotel were beautifully kept and even on the first morning when it was pouring with rain someone was out tidying up.

You may be thinking why is it difficult to write this review when you are saying how much you enjoyed your stay which,yes we did but the question is would we have enjoyed it so much if we had payed the full price of the room which I understand would have been over £350 per night on DB&B I think the answer would be not sure it would have been worth this much.

To finish I would say once again we had a lovely stay at the hotel and our thanks to the staff for helping us to enjoy our short stay at this lovely old hotel.

Room Tip: You really need to be able to manage steps and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DevonMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    59
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
54
209
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Excellant venue for a family meal. Champagne in the garden and then a our own room for 14.
Service was superb. Food very good, imaginative and well presented with decent portions. A bit more gravy with the roast beef and yorkshire is the only tiny moan I have. I should have asked but was too busy chatting!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peage97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Started with drinks in the lounge before a beautifully presented lunch. Delicious food and attentive staff. The best cheeseboard ever.
Finished with coffee back in the lounge. A great lunch with special friends

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Classic1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We took my mother for lunch during the "March heatwave". It was suggested we sit outside on the terrace. Although a little uncertain about the idea we agreed, and were not disappointed. The surroundings, sitting looking across the manicured lawn to the river beyond were wonderful.

The service was good, and the food just right.

We had a wander around the gardens after lunch which was delightful. Overall this was an excellent experience, and we would recommend it thoroughly. The next time the weather is nice we'll be back (especially if my mother is paying!

We were glad that lunch was served "upstairs". Though the basement restaurant is very nice it is a shame in the summer not to take advantage of the views provided outside. Could dinner not also be served here?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B16SDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A Sunday lunch to remember. Excellent food, impecable service from all of the staff, beautiful surroundings and a gloriously sunny day. As a returant owners nightmare I am not an easy man to please however credit where it is due -One of the best meals I have ever enjoyed. Faultless.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frazerkbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1.6 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
6.3 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
0.4 km away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
12.0 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
439 reviews
39.1 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,036 - ₹ 31,159
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing