We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All the luxury of a 5* hotel but with the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Bedroom with en-suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with en-suite
Primrose Cottage Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bedroom with en-suite
Primrose Cottage
Sitting Room
Inglenook
Roll top bath
Dressing Area
Hand painted kitchen
Secluded back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Sturminster Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DHLittle
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All the luxury of a 5* hotel but with the homeliness of a delightful cottage”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Primrose Cottage for 4 nights and it was simply wonderful. We had a such a relaxing break.

The cottage was immaculately clean and has everything you could need, we particularly appreciated the dressing gowns, fresh flowers, welcome basket and extensive selection of guide books. Sadly we didn't get time to make use of the bikes included at the cottage. Rachel really has thought of everything.

The local shop is less than 2 minutes walk from the cottage and is very well stocked. We used the cottage as a base to explore Dorset and the location is ideal to explore all corners of the county.

Overall, we would strongly recommend Primrose Cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing break, we cannot imagine a more perfect holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyP125...
1 review
“A MUST stay. Fabulous!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We loved the cottage. Immaculate and tasteful, cosy but more than enough room. The welcome basket was a real treat and a well stocked cupboard too. Lovely garden and great location. We would go back in a second!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodgkissa...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A charming cottage, very homely with everything you could near and more. We can recommend it without hesitation.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Rachel had a log fire going to welcome us to this wonderfully renovated cottage. We really appreciated the welcome pack and the little extras like magazines, great books, maps of local walks and details of good pubs and restaurants helped us really make the most of the local area. We had a great meal at the Stapleton Arms (a short drive away) and we got some excellent food from 'udders' (the local farm shop).
Primrose Cottage will be hard to beat !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettoire
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“5 stars all the way”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Primrose Cottage is PERFECT!

It's not often you can say that about somewhere you stay. Rachel has renovated this charming cottage to the highest standard. You can tell it has been a labour of love the moment you walk through the door. Every detail has been thought about in the design and decor. Rachel goes the extra mile to ensure there is a welcome basket full of useful things like milk, butter, eggs, bread and of course Dorset cereals. The cupboards are stocked with tea (numerous varieties), coffee, drinking choc, herbs, spices and condiments and there is also practical stuff like dishwasher powder, bin bags, loo rolls and cling film. Rachel had also placed fresh flowers in vases around the house and there were more than enough logs and kindling to see us through the week.

If you're staying to explore the area then the cottage has every map you need to cover the area, together with books and leaflets about local attractions.

Marnhull is a small village but does have a couple of shops for the basics. You're never far from a big supermarket if you really need to stock up.

Location wise it's great and the roads around the area provided good access to the coast (about an hr).

We were blessed with a dry week and sunshine so made the most and walked nearly everyday. The walking around Marnhull at the moment is pretty muddy so be warned!

A fantastic week again and the highest of recommendations to anyone looking for a break in this part of England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megpot
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Myself and hubby stayed at Primrose cottage for 3 nights in January 2014 and WOW that cottage is divine! We enjoyed being in the cottage so much that we hardly felt the need to go out exploring, it felt so homely but so luxurious at the same time. Rachel has put so much thought into the renovation and decoration of the cottage. I completely fell in love with the whole place, especially the fireplace and wood burner which is so cosy. On arrival there was a basket of breakfast goodies (eggs, bread, cereal, milk and homemade jams along with a few little treats of biscuits and crisps). There are good quality bath and shower gels to use and lovely fluffy towels and bathrobes. The freestanding bath is very cute and the scented candles add a beautiful touch. There were even painting materials in the cupboard and I felt so inspired by our amazing surroundings that I painted the fireplace, something I haven't done in years! We went for a few nice walks around Marnhull which is lovely and countrysidey! But as the weather was quite grotty we had a good excuse to stay indoors!

Added bonus- if you are a cat person- the cottage next door to Primrose had a very friendly cat who liked to sit on the dividing fence and meow at us in the morning (see photo!). Very cute!

I would definitely stay at the cottage again (hopefully for longer next time!) I wanted to go back for my birthday this month but unfortunately it is fully booked!

AMAZING!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace and woodburner
Liked least: Love it all! Only wish we'd stayed longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing