We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Standard Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portland Lodge Hotel
Reviewed 4 June 2017

when booking a single room I was advised that all single rooms were on the first floor & there was no lift, due to been disabled I was told that I would need to book a double room on the ground floor at the increased cost.
This double room was the size of a single with a double bed inserted, there was a chair that required to be continually moved to gain access to the bathroom etc.
the micro sink was situated very low & if the taps were turned on too far the floor was flooded
The television was positioned high on the wall making it virtually impossible to watch for any length of time
The room was cold with no heating available, plenty of rust & decoration was far below par

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank armitage805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 95 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

I have no idea what all the other reviewers are complaining about. My family stayed at Portland lodge the bank holiday weekend and found it warm, clean and tidy. Everything was clean , beds were comfy and the hot water tap had hot water coming out of it. The chap at reception was friendly and welcoming. It's a b& b ,, I've stayed in hundreds over the years when working away. Was scared after reading the other reviews but felt loads better when we saw the room.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel was booked through my work. After an 8 hour drive our team of 3 engineers arrived at the reception desk to find the most rude and vile women I've ever met. She was very unhelpful and was acting as if we were causing her hassle by making her do her job. I had room number 1, a disabled room. Both tea cups were minging, poo stains on the toilet, dead spider legs all over the tiles in the shower, dust everywhere, cobwebs and dead spiders all over the place, a mix of old peanuts and hair behind the head board, room stank of stale wee, the shower head had a massive crack down the side so the water just flew everywhere and my towels had dead wood louse in them.

During the first night I was woken up by a moth under my bed sheets so I decided to sleep in my van. Breakfast was terrible, I asked for just pouched eggs and the women (same one from reception) huffed and puffed as if it was a big deal. Everything looked dirty and minging in the actual dining area, I took my own water to drink. The eggs were somehow greasy, can't understand that because they were pouched and I didn't enjoy it. Second night was just as bad but was woken up by a spider crawling on my leg. I struggled to sleep again and woke feeling exhausted but had a 8 hour drive back to my normal place of work so thanks for that and totop it off there was a note on the breakfast room door saying due to staff shortages breakfast is cancelled. So thanks for that Portland lodge, tired and hungry, winner,

All honstey I'd of rather taken my sleeping bag and had both nights in my van and had a pot noodle.

Terrible terrible terrible.

Good luck

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank clapperton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

I stayed here one night on a business trip and it was just fine. This is straight forward accommodation. There was a friendly greeting at reception. The room was clean, the bed comfy, the shower hot. A big thumbs up for having mugs on the tea tray so I could have a proper sized brew. Nice veggie breakfast too.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Very cheap , and clean rooms ,but so badly run , friendly staff if your lucky to see them , booked breakfast ,but cook said she was not expecting us , on second day noone came to empty bins collect and change bins towls ect mack beds ect ,polite but do nothing staff ,and I mean nothing , so badly run , couldn't complain whilst u was there, as there was no staff at all ,left the keys on desk whn living ,bizarre set up ,what a shame cause the rooms are good for the money , but no man amend what so ever , we went and paid for our stay by our own choise walking into the office , if we hadn't ,and went to pay whn leaving ,we would of had to leave without paying ,because there simply no staff in the entire building ,strange set up

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isle of Portland hotels
0.4 km away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
634 reviews
2.9 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#4 of 14 in Isle of Portland
952 reviews
1.7 km away
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
#9 of 14 in Isle of Portland
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#6 of 14 in Isle of Portland
157 reviews
0.6 km away
Queen Anne House
Queen Anne House
#3 of 14 in Isle of Portland
144 reviews
0.7 km away
No. 35 at The New Inn
No. 35 at The New Inn
#5 of 14 in Isle of Portland
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Lodge Hotel

Address: Portland Lodge Easton Lane, DT5 1BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Portland
Price Range: ₹ 4,217 - ₹ 5,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portland Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Portland Lodge is a modern hotel offering clean, fresh rooms with comfortable beds, en suite facilities with showers and a traditional English breakfast. All bedrooms contain hospitality trays and colour TV. Hairdryers and Wireless Broadband Internet access are available on request. Seven rooms are designed for the physically disabled. Storing and drying facilities available for sailors and divers equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Portland Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Lodge Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing