We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“what a gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Proximity to the pub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
63 reviews
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room
Sitting Room
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
Dining room / Reading room
Reading room through to Conservatory
The Conservatory
Rear view of the cottage
The terrace
View of Corfe Castle from the terrace
Under the grapevines
Herb garden
Ground floor plan
Upstairs floor plan
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Laura E
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a gem”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My hubby and I stayed there over the weekend and we loved it. What a wonderful find - its not too far from london and so easy to commute to for a weekend away. The location is beautiful and close to lots of walks and beaches. The cottage is so lovely - it is modern and comfortable but still retains alot of character. The garden is sensational ! it is absolutley massive and the views are fabulous. We had our dogs with us and it is perfect for dogs. The open fire was wonderful - it was so cosy. Would definitely recommend this and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy house with lovely garden and great views in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is interesting and nicely furnished, with lots of art on the walls. The garden is spacious and enclosed, with a pond. The children enjoyed trying to spot the fish! The views over the countryside towards Corfe Castle are beautiful. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything we needed, except a dishwasher which was a shame. The cottage is situated in a stunning area with plenty to do nearby. The house is on a fairly busy road so there was some traffic noise but it didn't really bother us. The bathroom is characterful with endless hot water to wash sandy children, but the hot water is extremely hot so some caution is required, particularly when trying to get a comfortable shower temperature. There are lots of books, toys and games for children to play with - we particularly enjoyed Monopoly during our stay.
There are 2 staircases in the cottage - one is extremely steep so we tended to use the other one instead - the bedrooms are connected by a door so you can walk through. We had some lovely trips out - Knoll Beach (great for water sports and swimming with a nice cafe and toilets), Brownsea Island, Durdle Door, Portland Castle, Kingston Lacey, and Corfe Castle
were particularly good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, interesting character property, garden.
Liked least: Very squashy mattress in second bedroom, no dishwasher.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bags of character, great views of Corfe Castle”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is charming, well-equipped and great value. The kitchen and bathroom in particular are clean and modern, with everything you could need. The location is brilliant, making it a great base from which to explore the beautiful Purbecks. The garden is a massive bonus, big and tidy, with a brilliant view of Corfe Castle. The owners are also very attentive.
We stayed with two young children (4 and 2 years old). While they really enjoyed the garden and had a great time, the steep staircase (as advertised) and downstairs bathroom are something to be mindful of. Parking is on-street, a very short walk from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanGid...
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect cottage for stay with dog”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Cottage is well maintained in every aspect and is perfect for walking direct from the door either into corfe castle or to the coast path in the other direction.Scott arms across the road is also friendly,welcomes dogs and serves good food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view with a few problems”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We booked the cottage for the brilliant view and it still is. The kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms were fine but the living room and dining area less comfortable.
The parking was a pain and the on street parking should be pointed out. The garden seat has rotted and the nails may be a Health and Safety issue for a young family. Heavy traffic noise may be a problem if you insist on a quiet stay. Despite this we enjoyed the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and kitchen.
Liked least: Parking, traffic noise and living areas.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2014
Thanks for pointing out that the garden seat has rotted, we will replace this as soon as possible. Sorry to hear you had a problem with parking - there is free on-street parking throughout the village and we have always been able to park very close to the cottage without an issue. I'm not sure how to respond to your comments regarding the living room and dining room as we took a great deal of care in the furnishings and have only had fantastic feedback to date! Lastly, the cottage is only slightly set back from the road leading through the village so there is regular passing traffic, however I would definitely not describe this as 'heavy'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing