We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs& Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hill View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill View Cottage Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Hill View Cottage
Dining Area
Fireplace - Log effect fire
Kitchenette
Rear Garden
Inglenook Fireplace
Kitchen Diner
Double Bedroom
View from Garden
View from Cottage Garden
Courtyard
Shower Room
Lounge/Dining
Rear Garden Patio
View of Corfe Castle from Kingston
Corfe Castle Station
Lulworth Cove
Lulworth Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Isato
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs& Mr”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Cozy, home away from home, great location tucked in a beautiful village.
Quiet, just perfect!
Excellent communication with owner. Don't think twice, you won't be disappointed! Family of 3 with a child of 4.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachc1981
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect and peaceful”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a week here as a family of 4 with two young children aged 6 and 3. The village of corfe castle is picture postcard perfect, and this cottage a true gem.
Everything within the cottage fits just right, it's beautifully furnished and feels really homely and relaxing. The kitchen contains everything you need and more for a self catering holiday and the bonus of the washer drier was a godsend on our wet week away. There's a main bathroom downstairs with shower, but also a toilet and sink upstairs. Our room was warm, the bed extremely comfortable. Our kids loved the midi bunk beds in the second room and slept great every night - a lie in might have been nice though!!
The garden outside is beautiful, and though there are steps, like the cottage it is very child friendly.
We found so much we wanted to do in the area a week really wasn't enough. Our kids particularly loved the steam train and then the beach in swanage and a local kids farm called putlake. If you're looking for a nice meal steak-a-saurus in nearby wareham was our hands down meal of the week.
This cottage, and in this location we couldn't recommend enough. If we ever plan on visiting the area we'd without doubt stay here again. I imagine it's beautiful year round, and the lovely fire would make for a cozy winter break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Hill View Cottage is a credit to the owners. Well appointed and plenty of room. We are a family of 2 adults and a teenager and had plenty of room. Nice Cosy Living room with Inglenook fire(Gas fired) A decent size kitchen so you can prepare your own meals if you want to. extremely comfy beds makes you feel right at home and excellent Wi-Fi as well . It also has a large Garden with a Breakfast patio, Raised Patio with sun loungers and a lovely Decked area at the top of the garden to relax with a bottle of wine with views of the castle. In the pretty little village there is 2 excellent Pubs the Grey hound which is at the foot of the Castle and the Castle Inn. serving good food and drink, Old fashioned sweet shop, Shop for good local produce and a excellent Bakery. There are Good Transport links A steam Train Service that runs to Swanage or the Breezer Buses. The Cottage is a ideal place if you want to visit the Purbecks very close to many beaches.
We had a wonderful week in Hill View Cottage and wished we booked for longer and will definitely book again for a stay in the area. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyd2008
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a cosy base from which to explore the area and could not have found a better place. The cottage does not disappoint, full of character, surprisingly spacious, comfortable and perfectly located.
The lack of private parking was no issue as the reserved place in the local car park is a few minutes walk from the cottage. We travelled with our two children (young teens) and the essential wifi lived up to their exacting standards, the second room was compact but fine for them for a long weekend!
The garden was ideal for the dog and there are loads of walks on the door step as well as the lovely beach at Studland!
We had a cracking few days and can highly recommend if you are looking for a cosy, comfortable retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: We'd have swapped the washing machine for a dishwasher however if we'd have been longer maybe the washing machine would have been more useful!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs_A_H
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely dog-friendly cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed here with our two dogs for 8 days in January. The cottage has great character, was really cosy and felt like home. It is ideally located for exploring the Isle of Purbeck and Jurassic coast. There is a great view of Corfe Castle from the garden, and the village is a very short walk. Although most of the village was closed down for the winter we still managed to find some decent local dog-friendly pubs. Studland Beach is a short drive away and was fabulous to walk the dogs. Also nearby are Tyneham village, Swanage, Durlston Park, Durdle Door and Lulworth Bay and Castle. You can get to most Dorset villages within an hour. Cooking in the kitchen was a bit of a challenge at times but we managed. The wi-fi was fast and reliable. We had no issues with the TV, and the sofa is comfy. The gas fire is wonderful and brightened up the January evenings! Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing