We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful setting ruined by aloof and inconsiderate service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scott Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Scott Arms
Ranked #9 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Northumberland, U.K.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting ruined by aloof and inconsiderate service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We visited this pub which is beautifully positioned looking put over Corfe and it's castle after a mornings walk to Houns Tout. We ordered coffee from a barmaid who appeared totally disinterested in our custom. It took 15 minutes to arrive and when it did the tray of four cups of coffee was dumped unceremonially on the table and left for us to hand to each other and without a murmur from the waiter. The coffee was good but if you are lucky enough to own and run a pub in such a setting you really should train your staff to smile, be welcoming and provide the bare minimum of polite service.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    12
    10
    11
See reviews for
27
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

we went to have a meal and told we could order at 6pm, so as it was a beautifull view we sat and waited and was then told we couldnt order untill 7.15pm .what a waste of an evening and cost in taxi's. i am local but will stay clear in future and will be advising other locals to do the same

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheffielders089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
My apologies for your disappointing visit to The Scott Arms over the Bank Holiday weekend. There appears to have been some bad communication on our part. We do start serving food at 6pm however we were already fully booked until after 7pm. When the bar team changed shift some were not properly briefed about the busy night ahead.
You were not the only party to experience this problem and I managed to squeeze in the other guests. I can only offer my sincere apologies and hope you feel you can give us another try on a less frantic day. Two big bank holidays back to back really pushed us to the limit and with the great weather it was a very busy weekend.

Simon Coppack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corfe Castle hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed for one night and used the pub as a base to explore the beautiful local countryside and coastline.

The staff were very helpful and friendly in showing us the best routes etc.

Topped off by a fantastic dinner in front of a log fire with great beer.

Also the best breakfast we've had for a long time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank India32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.7 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
7.4 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
6.7 km away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
5.1 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
10.3 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Arms

Property: The Scott Arms
Address: West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,292 - ₹ 8,823
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Scott Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing