We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house”

Review of Axen Lodge

Axen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Axen Lodge
Sitting Room Snug Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Axen Lodge
Sitting Room
Snug Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
View of Cabin from Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
The cabin
Inside the cabin
Inside the cabin
Hot tub
Views from the decked area
Axen Lodge
Axen Lodge
Views from Axen Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J_mummy73
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful house”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a well-equipped secluded house in a peaceful location with views of farmland in all directions.
The house has everything you need. It was extremely easy to cook/barbecue/ prepare food/entertain due to to the wide array of utensils and crockery. The fridge is full size and having a washing machine, dryer and washing line make life easy.
We had another family to stay and the cabin came into it's own providing a separate and private addition.I had not even realised that it ask contained a camp-style bed meaning the whole house can sleep 9.All of visitors were impressed and tempted to re-book.
The hot tub was very popular .
I had not realised quite how remote the house is, it is a good mile from the nearest shop but there is a very pleasant walk down a farm lane to the village centre which was easily done in sandals.
Symondsbury village centre is amazing, the cafe had lovely food with an organic emphasis and there is a very reasonably priced bike shop.My children enjoyed the pottery studio.
Loads to do in the surrounding area, we made use of Bridport Leisure Centre for swimming on wet days and loved the sandy strip at Lyme Regis when it was sunny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location
Liked least: poor wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Axen Lodge and that you enjoyed your time in Symondsbury village.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stopthecu...
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, beautiful spot”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely spacious house, beautiful quiet location with views, big garden. The kids loved the trampoline, the adults loved the hot tub! The house is as well-equipped as one's own home, even down to a Wii Fitness, and a hand blender in the kitchen. Spotlessly clean too. Choice of how the beds are made up, twin or queen size. The cabin is a bonus. It meant we 2 older ones could quietly retire for the night when we'd had enough!

The only thing I would have liked was more chairs in the dining area. The benches were fine for most of us, but we oldies prefer a good back rest! Oh, and the wifi was a bit iffy.

The Symondsbury Manor Yard is well-worth visiting, with a very nice grocery store, craft shops, cafe and antiques. Beautiful little village.

All 8 of us had a wonderful holiday and wished we could stay longer. Thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you paid a visit to Manor Yard to see what else Symondsbury Estate has to offer. Unfortunately the Wifi can be a little intermittent at times due to the remote location of Axen Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable, restful, secluded location - perfect for 3 generations and dogs.”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Axen Lodge and Log Cabin provided a perfect holiday for our extended family of 8.
The accommodation is flexible, well equipped and very comfortable. Beds were very comfortable (2 were king sized). The bathrooms are modern and the towels provided were of good quality. It was a bonus to have towelling dressing gowns too.
The kitchen and dining area is also well equipped and welcoming. The hamper provided was generous and included eggs, milk, bread, cereal, muesli, jam, butter, juice, wine, crackers and more. Washing-up liquid, dishwasher tabs and washing machine tabs were also available.
We were lucky enough to have good weather so we could enjoy the barbecue and sit on the decking around the large outdoor table. There is a large enclosed garden.
The hot tub was great and the children made good use of the trampoline.
The view of Colmer's Hill from the accommodation is amazing.
The only criticism of the property was that the wi-fi was so limited as to be unusable.
Axen Lodge is well placed for walks and visiting the beautiful Dorset area. Symondsbury store and craft shop are excellent.
We had an enjoyable meal at the Ilchester Arms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion, views and privacy.
Liked least: Lack of usable wi-fi.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverleya...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect !!”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed for Christmas at Axen Lodge. The moment we walked through the front door our Christmas could begin, Axen provided every comfort, could not fault it in anyway. It was home from home ... only someone else had thought about all the little extras that makes a stay so much more restful and enjoyable !! We will return !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailyp123
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have booked with Symondsbury Estate for the last 3 years, usually staying in another property (Eagles Nest) but as this house was already booked this year we settled on Axen Lodge and we were not disappointed
The house is lovely and, as always, of a high standard of cleanliness and attention to detail. A lovely hamper full of eggs, milk, bread, jam etc; gorgeous cosy dressing gowns and a good supply of logs. The jacuzzi is wonderfully warm and we had to draw lots to decide who was going to stay in the log cabin as we all wanted to!
The best bit about Axen Lodge for me is access to the bike trail (great for walking/running the dogs too) and you can access the village and not have to drive to the pub! FABULOUS!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to village
Liked least: WiFi signal is a bit flakey but the whole village suffers from this
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing