We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable cottage”
Old Post Office
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Post Office
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Old Post Office
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Dining Area
Bedroom - zip & link bed can be double or 2 singles.
Double Bedroom
Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Outside dining area
Old Post Office showing games room
Games Room
The village of Symondsbury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nairemiro...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Old Post Office, Symondsbury and had a super time.
The cottage well appointed, very comfortable bed and a delightful village.
Manor Yard is beautiful and the Ilchester Arms a good local pub for an evening drink.
Bridport and West Bay are great for walks and eating out too.
Will come again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
200SarahB...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just had our second stay at the Old Post Office the first being in 2011. We have enjoyed it just as much as the first time. First class beds and bedding, cosy cottage, very large bathroom , lovely log fires, I could go on and on! Bridport is a very short drive with plenty of shops and the beach at Burton Bradstock was visited every day to give our dog a long walk. There was a lovely Christmas market in the village whilst we were there and it was the best market I have ever visited. Big thank you to Ruth and Wendy for making our stay so welcome, we shall return !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaBobo
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a week at The Old Post Office in October with our dog and teenaged son. The cottage is charming, with a rustic shabby chic vibe and a pleasant airy feel in spite of the low ceilings..taller people beware of the kitchen doorway!

The cottage is very comfortable, the beds in particular were excellent, and the whole house was well heated. The large bathroom and power shower were great. The kitchen was well equipped and when we experienced problems with the dishwasher someone came on the same day and fixed it. Very impressed with the service over that and every time we contacted Wendy and her team in the run up to our stay.

The large garden was very pretty and the games room would be great if you had younger kids. It was a handy place for us to store our tandem! If you have a small dog then beware that they can get under the front gates easily....we had to watch our cocker spaniel closely when he was out there. The back garden is completely secure though.

The location of the cottage is great with a cosy and friendly village pub just a few minutes walk away and there are some great walks described in a folder in the cottage. Our son loved the free wifi which was very good, quick and stable compared to what we have at home in a similar country location. A second TV is provided in the master bedroom...as always seems to be the case...and it would have been better to have had that in the second bedroom so that our son could have used it. As it was it was never on.

Our only suggestion, other than moving the second TV would be a stair gate at the bottom of the stairs. The one at the top is quite fiddly to operate, very difficult one handed, and all of us slipped at some point trying to fasten it. If there were a gate at the bottom we'd never have needed the top one (it was keeping the dog at bay!) and people with small children would only need to have the top one fastened when the little people were upstairs. As things stand if you are travelling with toddlers I'd take a gate for the bottom of the stairs.

The Old Post Office was a really lovely place to stay. It was incredibly comfortable and in a beautiful setting. It's very convenient for Bridport which is a lovely little town. We'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazingly comfy beds.
Liked least: The electric cooker (but that's just personal preference!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie H
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable cottage in a beautiful village.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very comfortable and spacious cottage. Facilities are good ie games room, barbecue etc. the village is beautiful with a lovely pub that serves excellent food. There is plenty to do and see in the area including Charmouth and Lyme Regis beaches which are excellent for fossiling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds were very comfortable and spacious
Liked least: The gardener arrived to cut the grass at the same time as us so I spent the whole week cleaning up grass from the property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhoulsron
2 reviews
“A reminder of what England was and is”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Old Post Office is secluded. However so close to the coast just a few minutes drive. It is quiet and peaceful with a wonderful standard of accommodation. There are many intriguing historical and other countryside delights which are so close and amazing if you know where to look in the surrounding area. These continue to surprise and go back centuries !

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing