We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional character with 5 star comfort”

Review of Eagles Nest

Eagles Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting Room with inglenook fireplace and wood burner
Kitchen & Dining Area
Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom with ensuite
Bathroom
Bedroom
Eagles Nest
Hot tub and patio area
Eagles Nest
Games Room
Well
Outside dining area with hot tub
Eagles Nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma_Ande...
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional character with 5 star comfort”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Eagle's Nest is the most beautiful and comfortable cottage we have rented. It is enormous for 6 people and a dog (it has a large garden with a gate that has been thoughtfully modified so small dogs cannot escape) and the best appointed kitchen we have come across. The décor is tasteful and expensive; the most gorgeous curtains! There are horses in the field next door - fortunately our dog didn't bark at them unless our daughter gave them too much attention. The hot-tub, trampoline and welcome pack put this into five star territory. The Games room could be improved though. If you don't expect Wi-Fi (or Netflix, iPlayer etc) you won't be disappointed (Symondsbury café is the nearest hot spot) and, if you plan to arrive in the dark, make sure you know the route - it is up a narrow sunken lane (with occasional passing places) about 1.5 miles from the centre of Symondsbury and you may wonder if you are really going the right way! It is secluded, so plan your shopping in advance. There is a Waitrose in Bridport which we found useful, and we had several meals at the Symondsbury café which is outstanding - we can recommend the pork roast and sea bass with pesto! The walk up Colmer's Hill is wonderful, and we enjoyed the art book and other reading that was provided in the cottage. What a fascinating insight into the history and planned future of the estate. We enjoyed days out fossil hunting at Lyme Regis and Charmouth and walking up Golden Cap (though some of the driving on narrow roads required nerves of steel). On a bright autumn day, the beauty of this area is truly incomparable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated and equipped
Liked least: Effectively no wi-fi so couldn't research local attractions or check traffic conditions etc
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for writing it! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and this review makes all of our hard work worthwhile! We're also pleased to learn you enjoyed your meals at the caf�, and also enjoyed the local areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam P
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can't get better than this!!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Five friends + 2 dogs stayed in Eagles Nest - a chocolate box cottage from the outside and with everything you could possibly need and more on the inside. Beautiful cottage, clean, comfortable and with plenty of room. Huge garden, super games room and fantastic walking from the cottage through the field next door. Oh dear, I don't want too many people to find this piece of heaven in Dorset. We hope to stay again very soon! Thank you to all staff at Symondsbury Estate-you have done it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have to agree Eagles Nest is a rather lovely property! We look forward to welcoming you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congystag
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Thatched Cottage in glorious countryside”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Eagle's Nest is a beautiful thatched cottage, spacious and well appointed. It has a large garden with hot-tub, child's trampoline and games room. Hot-tub was fun on a chilly night! A generous welcome pack was waiting for us on our arrival. We loved nearly everything about it. One minor quibble with the property would be that the wifi on offer is a weak signal and surprisingly works best outside.
The good thing about the location is that it is on a minor road with little traffic and is surrounded by countryside. On the down side there is little to do from the property except walk footpaths which we found poorly signed and hard to follow. Also the shops and pub are nearly one and a half miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Advertising wifi and only when you get there they admit it is poor.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments about the cottage. We're sorry you had problems with the wi-fi, which we do our best to rectify with the service provider as and when we have the issues, however due to its remote location it is not always a good connection.

The property is very much in the countryside and therefore the main activity is country walks, which isn't always for everyone. We do try to ensure that we advise all visitors of the locality of our houses so as not to disappoint on arrival.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Eagles nest is a beautiful place in a stunning location . Dorset is a wonderful area to explore . We met so many people who were so friendly . We loved it so much and would love to move to this area in the future .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“EAGLES NEST SYMONDSBURY”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had the most wonderful week staying at Eagles Nest, with our 2 boxer dogs, who also loved it. Surrounded by open fields and horses the setting is just beautiful. You feel like you are out in the country and yet only minutes away from shops and beaches. The cottage is absolutely perfect and meets every requirement you could have. We were fortunate to have very good weather and took advantage of this by using the ideal outdoor space for family bbq's, using the fantastic hot tub and trampoline for my 2 year old great niece. Everything at the cottage was of the highest quality and we could not fault one thing. Can't wait to go again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: very limited wifi access but something you have to accept i suppose being in rural surroundings
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing