We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem on the Jurassic coast !”

Review of Seaspray

Seaspray
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seaspray
Dining Area Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Seaspray
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Outside Decked Area
Eype Village
Eype Beach
Eype Beach
Eype Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gail C
Patching, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem on the Jurassic coast !”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Seaspray is a really fabulous cottage positioned literally 50 yards from the beach. Very cosy and beautifully appointed with extremely comfy beds. This is the perfect dog friendly location. Would not hesitate to recommend this special little find to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Seaspray and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgmidgley
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfull relaxing break.”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Having not being able to really find many reviews for Seaspray cottage, i was in two minds whether to book or not. Let me tell you though, i am so glad i did.
The cottage is lovely, it looks like it has been refurbished recently, and it has a lovely "beachy" feel. It sits in a beautiful quiet location, just above the beach.
There was everything you would need for a relaxing break, even a hamper containing bread, cereal, fruit juice etc.
We also visited the restaurant at Symondsbury Manor Yard, and the food was wonderfull.
This is a brilliant place to stay, whether just to relax and walk on the beach, or to use as a base for visiting other places on the Jurassic Coast, such as Charmouth or Lyme Regis, which are both nearby.
The market town of Bridport is only 10 minutes drive away, and this has a good selection of restaurants if you fancy dining out.
I would highly recommend a stay here, and we shall definately book again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Seaspray and also your visit to Manor Yard. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzieleg
England
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great cottage in amazing location! ”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had visited the area Ms y years ago, but have to admit the 'Broadchurch factor' really did give us the nudge we needed to return.
We were delighted with our stay at Seaspray chalet perched at the top of the cliff at Eype's Mouth. What an incredible location and it is no surprise that this stretch of coastline was used for filming.
Set among just a few chalets (sounds like a holiday park but it's not ) Seaspray sits just behind but askew to the first cottage on the cliff - in other words beautiful panoramic views with big glimpses of the sea. From dawn to dusk we enjoyed the ever changing vista including the sun rising/setting, a glorious sunny day or two with seagulls soaring to a magnificent storm. All mesmerising.
We are no strangers to the sea as we live by sea and cliffs ourselves. We didn't find the wind kept us awake in any way as chalet (cottage I'd rather it was called) was well insulated.
The cottage was well decorated and maintained. We were reassured that the housekeeper had contacted us prior to going about bed configurations etc.
On the subject of beds - they were the most comfortable of beds to be found anywhere (and we travel a lot). Bed linen was of good quality, along with soft, fluffy towels provided and two brand new tea towels and cheery tablecloth. A welcome pack of artisan bread/ fresh milk/muesli/apple juice and free range eggs was a great start to our week.
Living area was bright and very comfortable. Great seating arrangements and dining table and chairs where you can look out up the cliffs or out to sea. Plenty of up to date leaflets to be found on locality which was helpful.
The cottage was very well equipped with washing machine/drier and an airer. Also an iron which was useful. I noticed a high chair and travel cot for little ones.
Kitchen was well stocked with pots/pans/utensils - was very clean. There was also a dishwasher and powder. These useful and thoughtful extras really make a holiday thank you. Good sized fridge and freezer/microwave/toaster etc. plenty of good quality crockery and cutlery. I cooked meals from scratch several times and found everything I needed. Only grumble would be the cooker good needs a good scrub clean (can see this could be easily overlooked so all forgiven!)
Bathroom was great, with shower over the bath plus an extra loo. Bathroom was snug on a couple of the chillier mornings. Loved looking up the hill whilst in the shower!
Storage/drawers/hangers all adequate for coats/bags etc.
outside is decked with a garden seat outside the front door - great for watching the sun setting. Out of the French doors is a secure decked area with picnic table/seat along with sun chairs stowed away in the little shed.
Wifi is very important to us and we got a strong signal. There is also a phone in the cottage.
The beach is yards away - just beautiful.
Little shop selling basics at the next door campsite (maybe not all year?) however, we were able to purchase groceries in Bridport. The road that winds down through to Eypes Mouth could get a little busy at times and despite showing courtesy and thanks to motorists (very narrow at some points) I think locals were very reluctant to acknowledge having pulled over/letting them through and appeared quite rude at times, which was a shame as felt maybe tourists are not welcome. This is just a personal observation.
We would certainly return to Seaspray if holidaying in Dorset again, or if accompanying family would definitely consider another holiday property from Symonsbury Estate.
We popped in to the Symonsbury 'yard' of shops etc one afternoon. Enjoyed a half an hour rummage in the Vintage area along with visiting the little food store where we found some nice locally made vintage inspired items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Seaspray, it is a rather lovely spot! We really appreciate your feedback and will certainly be doing a deep clean on the cooker hood, it really helps if our guests can point out any problems/issues that may arise during their stay as this enables us to make sure that our standards remain high.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mostlymo
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious, accessible and well-appointed accommodation for all ages.”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked a last minute mid-week stay to give my elderly in-laws a break from living under siege during Wimbledon fortnight! Due to their mobility issues, Seaspray was the obvious choice as it is level entry, single-storey and spacious with two loos and a choice of superking double or twin beds in both bedrooms, as well as a safe, flat enclosed decked are on two sides (we also took our Border Terrier so don't worry, we weren't trying to keep the oldies in!) The beds were just gorgeous and we all slept well; it was lovely and clean and has a well-equipped kitchen - even dog bowls are provided - and a high-spec bathroom. There is a small utility room with toilet and washing machine. The lounge/dining room is nicely appointed with real art on the walls and windows on three sides offering views to sea, cliffs and fields. The beach is accessed through a gate a few metres away and down some steps which were too much for the rellies but they were happy to visit the more accessible Burton Bradstock beach as well as gad about Bridport and beyond. Add to the mix Symondsbury Estate with the Manor Yard shops and fantastic Symondsbury Kitchen (lovely food and staff) and it's pretty unbeatable. I've got to add that the welcome hamper is excellent too: artisan bread, cereal, marmalade and juice, eggs, butter, milk! We were previously booked anyway for a week at the end of October and just can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and decor, beds, location, close to Symondsbury amenities and other towns along the coast
Liked least: White armchair!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Seaspray. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you came to Manor Yard to enjoy all that Symondsbury Estate has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan6451
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The chalet was extremely comfortable, it is furnished with beautiful pieces of shabby chic furniture. The bed was very very comfortable, the best weeks sleep we have ever had. Lovely welcome pack. Views from chalet are incredible and there are lots of amazing walks and beaches nearby. The owners let us bring our dogs with us who also enjoyed their holiday. Chalet was exceptionally clean and to top it off we had amazing weather. All the staff were friendly, Gemma rang us a couple of days before our holiday to check we had received our email from owners, a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing bed and lovely linen
Liked least: Having to return home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing