We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Half Term Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Half Term Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We took the kids for a break during this last half term at thei hotel, and as with previous expereinces of stays here, we have been very happy with the service they provide. Kids love the entertainment at night and lots to do with them within the hotel even on a rainy day. Food at the restaurant was very good, however I think that there could be a little bit more variety with the breakfast offerings. Limited continetal selection for breakfast, apart form croissants and some bread and cheese. A variety of pastries and some cold meats would be appreaciated by those who do not prefer the traditional british cooked breakfast.


The hotel has removed the "monkey bars" clibming frame for the kids and was told that this was due to health and safety issues. Kids very much enjoyed this facility last year. This year the kids play area could benefit from some refurbishment.

My only real complaint is the matress in the double bed. The quality could be better i.e. pocket sprung mattress with a matress enhancer (feather or memory foam) would have improved the quality of our sleep.

Other than that staff were very helpful and accomodating to guests and thier requests. Most importantly, my kids enjoyed thier stay and as parents we feel rested and happy.

Keep up the good work at Woolacombe Bay Hotel!

Room Tip: if you are with children ask for communicating rooms when making a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshFamily040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    216
    91
    38
    19
See reviews for
273
288
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Lovely hotel with great views and fantasic food plus service ,what else can you ask for? We took our 2 young children ,lots to do for them . All great

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed over the Royal wedding weekend, and paid extra to upgrade to the sea view/balcony room.
Overall the stay worked out quite expensive for 4 nights, but we enjoyed our time here. Some Pros/Cons:

Pros
Amazing views out to the sea - balcony was nice to sit out on
Loved having use of the squash courts
The reception lounges were perfect to relax in and read the papers
It has a lovely aura of faded glamour
Few minutes walk down to the beach

Cons
Breakfast was so so busy, was difficult to get served for tea/coffee and they kept running out of things like juice glasses at the buffet.
You really need to book way in advance to get any treatment in the spa
The gym was only average
Some areas of the hotel were in need of modernisation
Wedding receptions can get pretty noisy
Rooms were a little on the small side

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

rooms comfortable and roomy. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was plentiful and good variety with the buffet service. Swimming pool n added bonus. In need of modernisation but this is being addressed on a daily basis. It all takes time, If you want value for money you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The fourth time we have stayed at this hotel and each time the room gets better. Most of the rooms have had a makeover and this year the bar area has been transformed.
The views are wonderful, lie in bed and watch the waves and surfers.
The food was good, nice breakfast but dont leave it too late, first morning we went to breakfast at 09.30 and alot of the items were luke warm or cold.
Alot of foreign staff, but very pleasant.
Plenty of nice walks, especially out to the point.

Room Tip: Room 302, Turret Room, Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slk350Prestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.0 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
11.4 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
5.2 km away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Property: The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,291 - ₹ 18,390
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing