We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Katie B
London, United Kingdom

5 stars isn’t enough

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2023
We eloped at Millbrook in December and we had an amazing time. The grounds and accommodation are lovely, fab walks on our doorstep with the pooch.

We stayed in Lakeview, and were blown away by how nice it was, in particular the special touches that make walking in the door so lovely - smell of fresh bread, homemade cake, music playing, little welcome cards for us and the dog.

We were both pretty nervous about our big day, but there was no need, everyone we came across were so friendly, Meg took great care of us on the day (& in the lead up), Bob gave us a call on our first night to say hi and check we were all good, Maria our photographer was amazing ensuring we felt at ease and took so many beautiful pictures, we had a fab afternoon tea by Nomad Dining. We can’t rave about everyone enough - THANK YOU.

Millbrook is a very special place, and the people, the grounds, the accommodation gave us a fantastic wedding day and lovely holiday, we can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Boothby, Owner at Millbrook Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for your fantastic review on Lakeview and your elopement wedding here at Millbrook. We are so glad that you had an amazing time, and thank you so much for your review. Congratulations again and we hope to welcome you back again for a stay or anniversary. From Meg and The Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
3.8 km from Millbrook Cottages
₹26,585
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    ₹25,121
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹34,165
4.1 km from Millbrook Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹10,417
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    ₹12,912
  • Agoda.com
    ₹8,839
  • Trip.com
    ₹12,916
6.5 km from Millbrook Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹15,734
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₹15,734
  • Agoda.com
    ₹15,733
8.9 km from Millbrook Cottages
Table Table restaurant exterior
₹9,219
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
12.0 km from Millbrook Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
₹16,114
₹14,649
  • Priceline
    ₹16,114
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,648
  • Hotels.com
    ₹14,648
12.5 km from Millbrook Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹16,114
₹14,649
  • Priceline
    ₹16,114
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,648
  • Hotels.com
    ₹14,648
12.7 km from Millbrook Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹13,889
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    ₹12,777
  • Agoda.com
12.7 km from Millbrook Cottages
Free Wifi
₹13,564
  • Expedia.com
    ₹13,563
  • Hotels.com
    ₹13,563
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹13,563
12.9 km from Millbrook Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Umberleigh
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
683
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
683
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summer house wheel room hot tub private dining freshly baked bread romantic break grounds are stunning wedding coordinator rose cottage thought of everything mod cons bbq hut extra touches wedding venue night break bob lakeview
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2023

Our weekend stay at the Millbrook Estate was truly exceptional, and we were thoroughly impressed by the meticulous attention to detail displayed by the hosts, Bob and Kate. The small touches made our experience truly memorable.

The accommodation was nothing short of fabulous and the grounds were beautiful which helped to make for a completely relaxing break.

What set our stay apart was the thoughtful consideration for our four-legged companions. Bringing our two dogs was a joy, as they were exceptionally well-catered for, adding an extra layer of comfort to our visit.

Bob and Kate have truly created a haven for those seeking a perfect blend of luxury, relaxation, and natural beauty.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Boothby, Owner at Millbrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Millbrook Estate! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic time during your weekend stay with us.

It means a lot to us that you noticed and appreciated the attention to detail that we put into making our guests' experiences truly memorable. Providing a relaxing and enjoyable environment is our top priority, so we're delighted that you found the accommodation fabulous and enjoyed the beauty of the grounds.

We absolutely love welcoming guests and their furry friends to Millbrook Estate, and we're so glad to hear that your dogs were well-catered for during your stay. Creating a haven where everyone, including our four-legged friends, can feel comfortable and happy is something we're passionate about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Millbrook Cottages and had a truly amazing stay. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made a good choice for our mini break.

The proprietors clearly know how to create a luxurious environment and have invested heavily to deliver a truly beautiful, tranquil and comfortable offering for their guests. We were completely blown away at the high specification and attention to detail within our accommodation and the surrounding estate. Bob, Kate and the team run a very slick operation that's totally focused on providing their guests with a priceless experience.

It's very rare that I feel motivated to review a venue but the Millbrook Estate deserves a special mention. It delivers on it's promise...'Heaven in Devon'!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Russell_Cupitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Boothby, Owner at Millbrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Thank you ever so much for sharing your delightful experience at Millbrook Cottages to celebrate your wedding anniversary. We are absolutely thrilled to know that your mini-break with us was nothing short of amazing. It’s heartening to hear that from the moment you arrived, you felt the charm and warmth of our little haven in Devon. We hope to see you back again soon. All the best Kate, Bob and the Millbrook Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023

We married here 5 years ago and returned for our anniversary this year. Such an amazing place to both get married and to holiday. Check out their website and see for yourself. We will be back again for our 10th anniversary, can’t wait

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Himandher149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Boothby, Owner at Millbrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Delighted to hear your cherished memories at our venue! We eagerly await your return for your 10th anniversary. It's always a joy to welcome back couples who celebrated their special day with us. Thank you for recommending our website to others. Looking forward to more celebrations with you! Thank you so much; Kate, Bob and The Millbrook Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2023

Millbrook was the venue for our wedding – just the two of us and our dog. ‘What a magical experience’ succinctly summarises our stay and special wedding day. The accommodation is of a high standard providing luxury with a welcoming cosy feel. The grounds of the estate are a fabulous place to retreat and relax with lovely country wooded walks by the small lakes with a friendly nudge from an alpaca or three along the away. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much effort with every attention to detail being given – thank you Meg. We could not had wished for anything nicer or anywhere better and so pleased we choose Millbrook for our special day. A huge thank you and highly recommend Millbrook.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victoriajprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Boothby, Owner at Millbrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Thrilled to hear Millbrook provided a magical setting for your intimate wedding. We're overjoyed that our accommodation, serene grounds, and friendly alpacas added to your experience. A big thank you for your kind words about our staff, especially Meg. Your recommendation means the world to us. We're honoured to have been part of your special day and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2023

This was our second visit to Millbrook Wheel room, a week this time, but still never long enough. The peace and quiet envelopes you, it’s just magical. The team really care and go that extra mile, from the spotless presentation, the homemade cake and fresh-baked bread, to the pup-pack to make any dog feel at home, it’s a natural spa. The BBQ hut is pure magic - fairy lanterns light you through the woodland walk, expect a hobby or elf to emerge and welcome you - we are not natural bbq people but this is something really special, an evening to remember and again all set up- all your plates, glasses, cutlery, cooking tools etc fire laid, strike a match music playing and enjoy! Daytime walks to lakes and watching the alpaca, chickens, goats, cats and occasional people kept our pup fascinated for hours between visits to Devon’s fab beaches. Recommend the Boathouse at Instow for eating, view and dog friendly. We have booked our Autumn return as a pre-winter boost. Thanks to the team for the extra special Birthday treat🥳

Room tip: Be prepared to fall under Millbrook’s spell
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janedN9539YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Boothby, Owner at Millbrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Thrilled to have welcomed you back to Millbrook's Wheel Room and delighted to hear you've already booked for next summer. Your continued enjoyment of our tranquil environment, attentive service, and unique touches like the pup-pack and homemade treats is truly heartwarming. The magical BBQ hut evenings and the natural beauty of our grounds, along with the local attractions, seem to have created lasting memories. We're grateful for your recommendation of the Boathouse at Instow. Looking forward to making your next visit just as special, if not more. Thank you for being a part of the Millbrook family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews