We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic large holiday home in brilliant...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Buttery

front of terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of terrace
front room kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
front of terrace
front room
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom 1 with private balcony
bedroom 1
rear private terrace
rear private terrace with sea view
bathroom 2
Mortehoe church
ground floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
1st floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
2nd floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
Buttery kitchen with 14-seater table configuration - can also be configured to seat 18 or 10 or 8.
view of Mortehoe from hill to rear
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Birmingha...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic large holiday home in brilliant Mortehoe village”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

From the time we booked Dominic was an excellent host, providing detailed info on the house and village. The outside paint work does need a little TLC, but don't let this put you off. This is a fabulous house, large and spacious with everything you need. The location in the heart of the village is perfect, with good pubs, shops and take outs. It is completely unspoilt, and a delight. We enjoyed the local beaches, some of the best in the UK, surely... And the cliff tops walks around the coast line stunning. We rarely go back anywhere twice, just too many new places to visit, but here, the house and the village are just so great, we are very very tempted. Thank you Dominic for a wonderful stay. We well might be booking in again. Rob and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Hi Rob, great to read your review, we would love you to return to Mortehoe and if you do you will find that the window frames were just about to be repainted when you stayed ... sorry about the peeling bits! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje M
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family friendly half term get away!”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Buttery was a wonderful location for a half term get away! We were a large group, of 5 children between 2 and 8 and 4 adults, yet we never felt cramped or under each others feet! Plenty of trip to the beach and some walking, and visiting the local sights - trips to Ifracoombe and The Big Sheep highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your stay and for your feedback. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh_and...
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a lovely time at The Buttery. It was very bright and spacious, the perfect place to relax. The kitchen was well equipped. It's situated in a great area, close enough to the beach and activities while also being a fantastic escape. Will be recommending to my friends and family!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Hi Josh and Kate, 'Will be recommending to my friends and family' ... the highest compliment, many thanks for staying at The Buttery! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewshu...
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION.”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wonderful location in lovely Mortehoe, which has great pubs, take aways , and lovely village shop.
Dom and Iona made us very welcome and the Buttery was perfect for our family, with nice touches including the travel cot and use of the landline , which was very useful a couple of times.
All our party enjoyed our stay at the Buttery , including Ron the Boxer , and as dog friendly accommodation is rare , this was a a real bonus.
Wonderful cliff path walking and exceptionally beautiful scenery minutes from the house.
Perfect holiday !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Hi Andrew, wow, 'perfect holiday' is really an encouraging assessment of your stay at The Buttery! Thanks for choosing The Buttery, and Mortehoe. :) D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty S
1 review
“Stunning family home”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

So pleased we chose the buttery as a base for our family to meet up for a week. Despite the rain (in August!) The Buttery provided us with a comfortable and homely stay. Plenty of space for everyone to relax and unwind. The piano and large well equipped kitchen really worked to bring everyone together in the evening for food and board games. Nice and quiet at night (we even could hear the sea from the terrace!) and the lovely views of the hills and grazing cattle in the morning from the terrace and rear bedrooms while we quietly drank our tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you for choosing Mortehoe for your holiday. You paint a very tranquil picture of summertime North Devon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing