We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodpecker Barn

Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign Lounge area with doors to patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign
Lounge area with doors to patio
Dining area and kitchen
Kitchen area
Kitchen
Main bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with king size bed and a single bed
Bathroom
Double doors lead on to private patio
Teak table and chairs for 'al fresco' dining
The courtyard garden which is shared by our three cottages
Summer rambling roses outside Woodpecker Barn
Children's playground in our field just opposite the cottage
The alpacas in our field are as Interested in our guests...as they are in the alpacas
Our chickens who lay your fresh eggs
Local walk along the River Avon Valley
Bantham beach - great for families
Bantham estuary - fantastic walks
Reflections of Burgh Island
Walk along the estuary near Aveton Gifford
Dartmouth harbour - a beautiful town to visit - and maybe take a boat trip
Stormy seas and rainbow over South Milton Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma T
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Whilst the weather wasn't as good as would have liked during our stay, we felt immediately at home at Woodpecker Barn. It was well-equipped, clean, had easy-to-use appliances and stocked with basics such as soap and washing-up liquid, etc, so that you can just get on with enjoying your holiday. It was a good base to visit the lovely beaches and towns of South Devon. Judy and Mike were so friendly and relaxed, we felt very much at home there, and the Devon scones, clotted cream and other goodies they left to welcome us were a lovely way to start our stay.
This place would ideally suit younger children, as the alpacas and chickens were a great hit with others staying there. There is plenty of space for them to play outside in a nice , safe environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome pack!!
Liked least: Small bathroom for 4 to share!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseE86...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely homely barn stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely homely converted barn on farm - well kitted out kitchen and good play space for children, plus nice touches like homemade scones and fresh cut flowers

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_O_8...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place for Families & People who are keen to explore the surroundings”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed with my parents and my boyfriend - was a great getaway for a long weekend. Perfect to explore the surrounding area including Darthmouth, Salcombe etc.
Property itself is located in a very pleasant surrounding, very quiet and private.
Very friendly owners that have been helpful at all times. Shared areas including playgrounds etc. on the property are great for families and still each cottage has their own outside area so one can have a BBQ alone. The cottage itself has everything one can wish for and was very clean. Overall a great stay :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenience of location to explore the surrounding area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
“Amazing country getaway!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My girlfriend and her parents booked the cottage for us and it was more than amazing! The countryside was beautiful and the cottage was very well situated to see all the sights in South Devon, from the steam train to lovely beaches and the best farm shops one could imagine. The owners were more than friendly offering advice for local shopping and great sightseeing. It was the first time I got to meet the "parents" and the setting made for a great first adventure. We traveled from Berlin, Germany and Morgantown, West Virginia, USA. Trust me I know of wonderful scenery in the hills of WV and nothing came close to this. Also, Jeffery the farm dog and the Alpacas made it even more cozy. I also suggest having Mike bring you some fresh eggs from their own chickens!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How we were made to feel like a local
Liked least: English country roads can be a little stressing, especially for those not used to them.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn R
1 review
“A wonderful stay at Woodpecker barn”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thank you to Judy & Mike for helping to make our stay at Woodpecker Barn so enjoyable..We particularly liked the cream tea and fresh eggs, which were awaiting our arrival.
Woodpecker Barn is ideally situated for the clean and quiet local beaches at Slapton Sands and Bantham and both are approximately 20 minutes drive,
The peace and quiet and comfortable surroundings are ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable surroundings as well as the cream tea and fresh eggs left for our arrival.
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing