We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a relaxing place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Safe, award-winning beaches and clear blue water - the perfect family holiday by the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Safe, award-winning beaches and clear blue water - the perfect family holiday by the sea
Cotmore Farm, where a warm welcome awaits, whatever the weather! A stone barn in a quiet courtyard – the traditional exterior conceals a luxurious hideaway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Safe, award-winning beaches and clear blue water - the perfect family holiday by the sea
Cotmore Farm, where a warm welcome awaits, whatever the weather!
A stone barn in a quiet courtyard – the traditional exterior conceals a luxurious hideaway
Packed with all the comforts of home, and then some!
Just a mile from the South Devon Coast Path
And with 13 acres of pasture and woodland to explore and walk the dog in
Heated slate floors and crisp cotton sheets ensure a blissful night's sleep
The ensuite bathroom has a curved bath with power shower over
A welcome basket of local specialities awaits your arrival
Cook up a storm in our fully equipped kitchen
Or relax on a rustic bench in the farm courtyard
Double French doors give direct access to a sunny, totally private terrace
The garden is a real sun trap, complete with barbecue, perfect for alfresco dining
Huge living space has vaulted ceilings with rooflights and original scissor beams
For rainy days, a well stocked library caters for every taste
Second bedroom has twin beds that comfortably accommodate children or adults
Or cleverly convert to a luxurious super-king!
Family bathroom has spacious power shower
Heated floors, slate tops, and heated towel rails - pure luxury
Pick fresh herbs for your salad, throw another sausage on the barbie
Or come and meet some of the farm animals!
Board meeting? Take lessons at our local surf school
Or explore one of many quiet coves (at busy times you may have to share the beach)
Can we come back again next year? Please?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew V
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Myself and three others stayed at Cotmore Barn for four nights before Christmas and we loved everything about it.

Piers welcomed us on our arrival and explained everything we needed to know, but also advised us to look in the handbook in the house, which we found very informative and helpful. He and Sue live nearby and are there if you need assistance or advice, but were never intrusive. We appreciated the welcome basket with brown bread, coffee and other treats. Lovely touch! As was the delightful Christmas tree!

The barn itself is very warm. That log burner really gives off some heat and brings a rustic feel to this modern abode. The heated floor downstairs where the bedrooms are added to the warm atmosphere.
I cannot fault anything about our stay. I recommend the homemade sausages you can buy from Piers -so tasty! It's very relaxing to be in such a quiet, cosy environment inside whilst you can visit the farmyard animals when you go outside.

We wished we could have stayed longer as it was utterly relaxing and there is much to discover in the nearby area such as taking a long walk by the lighthouse in Beesands. Our pup loved his stay there too! We will definitely be back!
Corinna, Canterbury.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelrev
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All round Fabulous”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

It is rare for me to give 5 stars but this is one occasion when it was truly deserved.
As a family we decided, very late, to have a "get away from it all" Christmas. We noticed The Fabulous Barn Conversion and booked from Christmas Eve through to 27 December. What an absolute joy from the ease of booking through to arrival and then sadly departure.
Piers and Sue (considering the time of year) could not have been more accommodating. From extensive arrival notes and local knowledge to wonderful walks and of course local culinary suggestions.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a beautifully dressed Christmas tree together with an extensive welcome pack. A fabulous surprise.
The barn internally, externally and the surroundings are all fabulous.
We would have loved to have stayed for longer and shall return to hopefully enjoy a less blustery experience.

Thank you Piers & Sue

Nigel, Jayne, Isabella & Ruby (the posh poodle)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in Beautiful Area”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The Barn was everything we were hoping for as a relaxing holiday getaway. Piers and Sue were very welcoming and the Barn was beautiful, clean and tidy and well equipped for our week long stay. We took our 3yr old terrier Tank with us and the enclosed garden by the barn and the orchard behind were ideal for her to stretch her legs. The farm is located in the very beautiful rolling countryside of South Devon and is close to a number stunning coastal walks and lovely towns which are well worth exploring. The Café Ode at Gara Rock do a nice lunch and the Trademan's Arms at Stokenham a hearty dinner and both are dog-friendly. After returning from our adventures for the day it was great to come back to the Barn and relax in front of the roaring log burner.
We had a really great holiday and would highly recommend the Barn and Cotmore Farm. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log Burner and Welcome Basket
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALD2355
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Property for this Price Range”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival the property had not been cleaned since the last occupants. For example, the shower and toilet were dirty, the kitchen floor was filthy, food remains were stuck to plates, bowls and kitchen table, hairs on the dish cloth, dirty food caddy, etc. On complaining, the owner's representative cleaned the shower and toilet but we were left to clean the kitchen before we could cook dinner. This was not a great way to spend the first evening after a long drive. Some cleaning issues were left unresolved.

There were several other problems with this property but we felt that we could not complain further. We were offered a small refund after the event but felt this did not cover the inconvenience and unpleasantness we experienced in this property. We have been renting holiday properties both in the UK and abroad for the last 25 years and this is definitely the worst experience we have had.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
We were very sorry to learn that you were less than wholly satisfied with your stay. In four years of hosting, during which we have received more than 140 5-star reviews, we have never had a complaint of this sort, so we have carefully reviewed the sequence of events to see what we might learn from it.

Something clearly went wrong during the changeover clean. We had departed that morning on our annual holiday, leaving the business in the very capable hands of our parents. When they were made aware of a problem on Saturday evening, they first apologized profusely, then attended to your immediate concerns in the bathroom ? they say you insisted on doing the kitchen yourselves ? and offered a complete re-clean of the property the following day. You said this wouldn?t be necessary. They inspected the property again on Sunday by the light of day, did some more spot cleaning and, as a belt-and-braces solution, sent our housekeeper in for two hours on Monday to give everything a final once-over. As far as they were concerned, that was that. The first we knew of unresolved cleaning issues was from your email, received 10 days after your departure.

We were sad you felt your holiday had been spoiled by this issue. Our offer to pay you �100 as a goodwill gesture was calibrated against the presumed inconvenience, and sincerely meant. It is a matter of considerable regret to us that you dismissed it out of hand as insufficient.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DE5518633...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great barn in lovely area”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Cotmore barn. We have had three other rental properties in this area - each with its own pro and cons - but this was our favourite. It is on a lovely quiet farm and slightly off the beaten track. We have a 9 yr old and 8 yr old and they really enjoyed roving around the farm feeding the pigs with Piers and looking at the horses with Sue. They also enjoyed picking the eggs for our breakfast! The barn was just what we wanted - nice old exterior, modern interior, very well equipped and with a brilliant wood burner which we lit every night. All the facilities were spot on. Really nice welcome basket. We know the area well so the beauty didnt surprise us, but if you are new to the area then you will love it. If we come back to South Devon (highly likely) we will come back to Cotmore Farm!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing