We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little slice of heaven...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandford Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hawkchurch, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BlackDahl...
2 reviews
“A little slice of heaven...”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

As the title suggests Sandford Cottage surpassed our expectations. We were warmly welcomed by the lovely owners Pete and Bev and were awed from the moment we first set eyes on the place. Hidden away amongst the trees and wild flowers stands Sandford, a beautifully idyllic cottage equipped with everything we needed for our weeks stay. Pete was great at showing us around and seeing if there was anything else we needed and the fresh eggs, milk, bottle of wine and chocolates were very much appreciated! It didn't take us long to get settled in and start exploring the land that surrounded the cottage (which there is a lot!). We wanted a holiday away from everyone else and couldn't have picked a better place! The only visitors we had during our stay were deer, a fox, squirrel, pheasants and the highlight for us were watching the badgers coming up to the door for the peanuts we left them every night. Yes it can be tough to get a phone signal but not from the bedroom window (didn't take me long to figure that out) and Pete can provide wifi on a pay as you go basis. We were actually pleasantly surprised by how much we DIDN'T miss the outside world. All in all we were really impressed with everything during our stay and we had a lovely week at Sandford. We're already seeing when we can get time off work to return! If you're looking for a beautiful hide away or even a base whilst you explore further you won't regret staying at Sandford Cottage (I'm sure I'll think of other things later that I wished I'd have put). Thanks Bev and Pete for our great week, hopefully see you guys again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertspe...
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Until we arrived at Sandford Cottage we did not realise just how lucky we were to secure a last minute booking. It is a pretty, almost chocolate box, cottage set in a large, lawned garden with pond, surrounded by woods and fields. It is a one up, one down with a large, comfortable, ensuite bedroom upstairs and a cosy, open plan downstairs. The owners, Pete and Bev, were our ideal hosts - very warm and welcoming. They did not intrude but we felt certain they would be there if needed at any time. As it was the property was so well equipped that we did not have to trouble them for anything during our week there - Pete and Bev did ask us to let them know if there was anything else we needed to make our stay better, but we could not think of anything.
For us one of the best things about this cottage is the wildlife: we had badgers feeding on the lawn and patio every night if we put out peanuts; we had a Great Spotted Woodpecker visiting the bird feeder; a Buzzard and numerous other birds; and pheasants and deer wandering by.
This is a perfect getaway for couples of all ages, but within easy reach of the coast and many picturesque towns and villages. We used it as a base for a sightseeing, walking and cycling holiday - it proved ideal for all these activities.
NB - the only reason we have marked down the ease of booking was because we found the property through a holiday letting company whose website did not work properly, but Pete and Bev sorted this for us - we would recommend booking direct.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wildlife visisting the garden
Liked least: Leaving after at the end of our week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A marvellous romantic hide away”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you like peace and quiet and no-one to disturb you then this beautifully restored cottage in the devonshire countryside is for you.It is furnished and kitted out to a very high standard. Everything you could possibly need for your stay has been thought of.Very comfortable and cosy. The owners are very welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation
Liked least: road leading to property had pot holes in places
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaLT...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect weeklong getaway”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really couldn't believe the view as we first drove down the track towards Sandford Cottage. At the top of a valley, you could see the beautiful countryside for miles around and it felt like something out of a film. When we first met Pete and Bev, they could not have been friendlier, and the cottage itself...oh my! On Google maps, it is hardly visible amongst the green fields and acres of trees and when inside, it sort of feels like that too. We felt completely at peace and alone in the adorable but very well-equipped cottage. No noise except for the wildlife outside and nobody to be seen until you travel the very short distance to either Axminster or Lyme Regis. Despite the weather, we visited the beach at Lyme Regis three times (making sure to make the most of the freezing waters by bodyboarding and then crabbing), visited Haynes Motor Museum and many other days out.

However, it hardly felt as though you needed to go out to have a good time! In the garden, there some sunbeds, a lovely picturesque pond, a barbecue and there are also many tracks around the cottage to go walking or running on. Inside the cottage too, there is everything you could ever need. My boyfriend and I are both brass musicians and so the remote location was perfect for practising too! (I think we may have only disturbed a few badgers and cows)

The nearest supermarkets are in Axminster (Tesco and Co-op) and are literally a 10-15 drive. There is wifi too, although on pay-as-you-go, so no film streaming but there are films there and we brought our own. The electricity meter does indeed run on £1 coins, but we rarely had to top it up, even though we would cook most nights, have the lights on and be watching TV. If anything should have gone wrong, Pete and Bev were only up the road, but the cottage is so well furnished and smooth working that we would never have to.

Thank you so much Pete and Bev - we'll be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect-sizedness of the cottage for a couple
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john cliv...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have stayed at Sandford cottage a few times and returned again this year. The wildlife is what brought us back, bait with peanuts up to the front door and badgers, foxes will turn up to give you the experience of a lifetime. Listen to the deer 'barking' in the woods and the variety of birds is outstanding, plus the peace and quiet and scenery, wow, what more could be asked? Peter and Bev. are really lovely too!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing