We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
77
10
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
10
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun trap clean rooms thank you for a lovely night break balcony devon
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

was a little worried at arriving at the hotel because there was a for sale sign but there was no need worry. the owner is selling due to the loss of her husband, its a largish hotel too much for her on her own. having said that she only takes in as many guest as she can cope with and does a good job. hotel is clean and breakfast spot on. the only thing that marred it for us was no draught beer in bar but apart from that it was great. there is an out door pool and patio area, t.v. lounge, pool table.

Room Tip: some rooms have verandas and a sideway sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixiewendyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We were visiting friends in Combe Martin and booked into the Poplars for 4 nights.
We were welcomed by Jean on arrival and shown to our room (6). The room was plenty big enough with a lovely balcony overlooking the small swimming pool and the hills and also a side sea view. It's more like a b&b than a hotel I think there are only 7 rooms. The room had an ensuite bathroom and the shower was fantastic. You get given a sachet of shampoo but no conditioner so best taking that with you or buy in the town if you need it. My only complaint about the bathroom was that there wasn't anywhere to dry the towels. There was a rail but it wasn't heated and you don't really want the radiators on in summer so we used the same damp towels each day.
There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and plenty of wardrobe space. The bed was comfy enough.
The hotel has a games room and a lounge and a bar which we never used but had a look around. There is also a small swimming pool but the weather wasn't fab so didn't have the need to use it.
Breakfast which is served in the dining room was a choice of cereals and yoghurts and fruit juice with a full English option or you could choose individual items off the cooked breakfast menu. All very tasty and nicely cooked.
There is also free wifi which was a bit patchy but nice to have it in the room as well as the rest of the hotel.
My only other complaint (apart from the towels) which is the only reason I haven't given 5 stars, is the car park. There are only spaces for about 8 cars but you all have to block each other in except the 3 at the front. On checking out we had to wait until the car in front moved so we could get out and when we were parked at the front we almost felt we had to move it to the paid car park by the sea front (only 1 min away) just in case someone wanted to go out before us. I think guests should have to give their number plate details to the owner so that she knows which car belongs to which room in case someone needs to be asked to move. Some people do go out for the day and don't take their car but I would hope these people would think about the other guests if they were the ones parked at the front.
The hotel is within walking distance of the town (uphill on way back) and Combe Martin beach. There is a nice little beach a bit nearer too although not really a bathing beach but fun for paddling and climbing on the rocks!
All in all a lovely little place that we would definitely stay in again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank scouseimposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Warm and friendly service. Room very clean and well equipped. Enjoyed our stay and will stay again in future. Jean is a lovely hotelier making our stay a pleasure. The only drawback was we left to drive 250 miles home. John S.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _john_skillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Poplar Hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable with a lovely view from the balcony. We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed some evening drinks at the bar with Jean, her daughter and other guests. Breakfast was lovely although portions could have been slightly bigger. Myself and my partner would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank steph24092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Jean provided excellent service and very helpful local knowledge.
Comfortable room and good resources for walkers on the South West Coast walk.
Close to restaurants, cafes, shops and pubs in an idyllic location.

Room Tip: harbour view
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews