We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting friends in Combe Martin”
Review of Poplars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplars Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We were visiting friends in Combe Martin and booked into the Poplars for 4 nights.
We were welcomed by Jean on arrival and shown to our room (6). The room was plenty big enough with a lovely balcony overlooking the small swimming pool and the hills and also a side sea view. It's more like a b&b than a hotel I think there are only 7 rooms. The room had an ensuite bathroom and the shower was fantastic. You get given a sachet of shampoo but no conditioner so best taking that with you or buy in the town if you need it. My only complaint about the bathroom was that there wasn't anywhere to dry the towels. There was a rail but it wasn't heated and you don't really want the radiators on in summer so we used the same damp towels each day.
There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and plenty of wardrobe space. The bed was comfy enough.
The hotel has a games room and a lounge and a bar which we never used but had a look around. There is also a small swimming pool but the weather wasn't fab so didn't have the need to use it.
Breakfast which is served in the dining room was a choice of cereals and yoghurts and fruit juice with a full English option or you could choose individual items off the cooked breakfast menu. All very tasty and nicely cooked.
There is also free wifi which was a bit patchy but nice to have it in the room as well as the rest of the hotel.
My only other complaint (apart from the towels) which is the only reason I haven't given 5 stars, is the car park. There are only spaces for about 8 cars but you all have to block each other in except the 3 at the front. On checking out we had to wait until the car in front moved so we could get out and when we were parked at the front we almost felt we had to move it to the paid car park by the sea front (only 1 min away) just in case someone wanted to go out before us. I think guests should have to give their number plate details to the owner so that she knows which car belongs to which room in case someone needs to be asked to move. Some people do go out for the day and don't take their car but I would hope these people would think about the other guests if they were the ones parked at the front.
The hotel is within walking distance of the town (uphill on way back) and Combe Martin beach. There is a nice little beach a bit nearer too although not really a bathing beach but fun for paddling and climbing on the rocks!
All in all a lovely little place that we would definitely stay in again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank scouseimposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2016

Warm and friendly service. Room very clean and well equipped. Enjoyed our stay and will stay again in future. Jean is a lovely hotelier making our stay a pleasure. The only drawback was we left to drive 250 miles home. John S.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _john_skillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Poplar Hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable with a lovely view from the balcony. We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed some evening drinks at the bar with Jean, her daughter and other guests. Breakfast was lovely although portions could have been slightly bigger. Myself and my partner would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank steph24092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Jean provided excellent service and very helpful local knowledge.
Comfortable room and good resources for walkers on the South West Coast walk.
Close to restaurants, cafes, shops and pubs in an idyllic location.

Room Tip: harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

What a wonderful find ..... warm friendly greeting by Jean, room exceptionally clean and well equipped. The view from the balcony was stunning overlooking the bay and surrounding hills, although due to the very cold and wet weather we were unable to make the most of it. Thank you for the central heating much appreciated when we returned from eating out and arriving back absolutely soaking wet!!!

Breakfast the next morning was a delight - food excellent quality and well cooked, service 'spot on'.

Would certainly recomment this Bed and Breakfast. Thank you Jean for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.9 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
0.1 km away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
0.1 km away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
0.1 km away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
13 reviews
0.1 km away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Hotel

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: ₹ 7,120 - ₹ 7,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Poplars Hotel Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing