We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
77
10
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
10
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun trap clean rooms thank you for a lovely night break balcony devon
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Poplar Hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable with a lovely view from the balcony. We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed some evening drinks at the bar with Jean, her daughter and other guests. Breakfast was lovely although portions could have been slightly bigger. Myself and my partner would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank steph24092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Jean provided excellent service and very helpful local knowledge.
Comfortable room and good resources for walkers on the South West Coast walk.
Close to restaurants, cafes, shops and pubs in an idyllic location.

Room Tip: harbour view
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

What a wonderful find ..... warm friendly greeting by Jean, room exceptionally clean and well equipped. The view from the balcony was stunning overlooking the bay and surrounding hills, although due to the very cold and wet weather we were unable to make the most of it. Thank you for the central heating much appreciated when we returned from eating out and arriving back absolutely soaking wet!!!

Breakfast the next morning was a delight - food excellent quality and well cooked, service 'spot on'.

Would certainly recomment this Bed and Breakfast. Thank you Jean for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

We have once again had a lovely break at the poplars, we were made to feel very welcome as always, the food was top quality as was the rooms and the well stocked bar, we look forward to returning very soon.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

After a long period of absence due to personal illness, it was nice to be back at "The Poplars". The Bed & Breakfast tariff is as competitive as ever, whilst maintaining the high standards which make a stay at this establishment excellent value for money.(Just love Jean's breakfasts). From the moment we enter the front door we feel relaxed and at ease. Thank you to Jean and family for making yet another stay so memorable. Just what the Doctor ordered.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms provide open views of the landscape and sea.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FingersBiggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews